Weekly update(delayed a lot!) on my chili plants. Fruits just to start to ripen.

in #gardening6 years ago

Design.png

Yellow, fellow gardeners. How are you doing?

Wow after a lot of waiting the fruits of my chili pepper plants are finally here. The first one to arrive were pepperoncino peppers and I was really excited. The plant is in a hydroponic setup and it has 5 fruits on it. 3 of them are larger, while I have 2 more peppers which are still very tiny. I am waiting the bigger ones to start ripening.

IMG_1112.jpeg

The second plant, that started developing fruits is a Yellow Moruga Scorpion. It has a lot of flowers, it continues producing flowers, but most of them are just dropping. On this guy I have 3 chili peppers now, and one of them is getting very big lately.

IMG_1111.jpeg

Look at these shrinks and bumps, which are forming. The smaller one on the bottom is somehow different in shape, and I am really curious to see how it will develop.

The setup of this Moruga Scorpion is again hydroponic. Maybe I am doing the feeding of the hydroponic plants better. I had 2 bigger plants in soil, but they are dropping flowers all the time. I don’t know where the problem is, but I will figure out one day maybe.

One day I was a bit nervous about them, so I pruned the two soil peppers. One of them are currently transplanted in the yard of my grandparents’ house and lives happy and free, while the second one is still indoors.

IMG_1106.jpeg

I am now having an experiment about a plant propagation. I cut one of the plant branches and put it in water. Really hope to see it rootin in a week or two... or maybe more. If the experiment works and the shoot develops roots I will have one more chili pepper plant.

IMG_1105.jpeg

For now these are the main points around my gardening experience. I really can’t wait to see the peppers ripen and taste them. Wow, they must be burning hot.

See ya again, bye!
IMG_1110.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice, they've grown pretty nicely and seeing the first fruit change colour must feel pretty good! :D

With cloning, you might find it happens faster if you choose a young branch without flowers or if you remove the flowers. If you leave them on, the plant will push energy to them leaving less energy for roots to form.

I’m still waiting to see this color change! For the cloning, I make this exclusively for the experiment, and am aware, that the branch will do better without the flowers, but maybe will keep them for now. Still it’s relatively young, I think hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76