A Happy Early Birthday SurprisesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

Imagine the excitement racing through my two grandsons Davey and Gideon as they showed up at my house today. As I entered the room they broke into a loud and exuberant rendition of “Happy Early Birthday”. So there they were, all smiles holding a wrapped package with a card attached. As I peeled away the wrapping paper I found a rather large Minecraft Lego. While I tried to maintain a suitable level of enthusiasm for my “Birthday Present” they reassured me that there were about five bags of 729 Lego pieces. I began to stutter a bit and reassured them that I would love to put it together but I would need their help. Standing behind them was my darling daughter Camille grinning from ear to ear appreciating just how much I would enjoy Legos. The boys burst into laughter knowing that the real present was hidden inside.

They definitely had the last laugh this time because hidden inside the Lego box was the game Garden-opoly. Needless to say I was really surprised and touched by their thoughtfulness. Being an avid master gardener I was excited to see the interesting parts to the game. Instead of houses, there are clay pots, and you trade them up for greenhouses instead of hotels. There are also some pitfalls to avoid like aphid infestation, a water bill and a dandelion outbreak just to mention a few. On the back of the playing cards there are interesting facts to use for gardening such as the correct climate and soil for plants, as well as their origin and different varieties. So there is a lot to learn on top of having fun.

It was difficult to choose which token I was going to be but I settled on the Garden Nome since Gideon thought that would be best.

I was really happy to see that this game is educational as well as fun and that is a winner for this Nana. So with Davey as the banker the three of us settled in for a fun afternoon playing my new board game. And who knows maybe someday I might be elected president of the Garden-opoly Horticultural Society!

Sort:  

Happy Early Birthday :-)

very cool! :) upped!
and happy birthday hope you have a good one!

Thank you very much You are so kind to send the balloons!

Woot happy birthday steemit.

I like that little worm token, lol! This looks like a fun game when it's too cold and wet to garden -- and you won't even have dirt under your fingernails when it's over.

How true the garden is still too muddy to venture out. It is a very fun game. Thank you for your kind comments.

You're welcome - and happy birthday!

Happy Birthday @marymg2014!
What a fantastic story. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00