Sort:  

Raspberries are my favourite fruit. Except maybe for fresh figs... I wonder whether we could grow some on our deck this year, and whether the yellow ones are available.

I planted a fig tree at the same time as the raspberries but no fig this year. The berries did wonderfully in big pots with miracle grow soil. I got mine online. You might look up online sites selling raspberries to have yellow ones shipped.

Good thinking. Koanga Institute up north supply lots of heritage seeds and this is what they say about the yellow raspberry.

Yellow Raspberries

Yellow raspberries have been in the Koanga Collection for many years, and over the past 15 or so years we have heard several stories about trampers finding them growing wild along old routes used by the goldminers, mostly in the South Island. The places these stories and plant material seem to mostly go back to are in Central Otago. It seems to me that the Chinese goldminers must have brought them to New Zealand, along with Chinese artichokes, Chinese sugar peas, and Gogi berries (along with much more I’m sure), during the goldrush years, and they have spread and became naturalised in those places they loved growing. The Chinese were obviously amazing gardeners and brought with them a very well thought out collection of plant material to provide for all of their food needs for their immediate future upon arrival here. There used to be acres of Gogi berries growing wild in Central Otago, but they have been taken out to plant vineyards I believe. (If any of you know where there might remain any of these original Gogi berries we would love to hear from you).

The yellow raspberries in our collection came from a variety of sources both from the South Island and the North Island. They were obviously once widespread. It is easy to see why, they simply taste very good. They are my favourite raspberries, and fruit very well all over NZ. I love to imagine them growing wild under the original apples in the Kazakstan forests (see page 42), and I wonder what our equivalent of that guild might look like in this land. We will certainly be planting them in our apple food forest this Winter. It seems that the original centre of diversity for raspberries is in the northern Turkey area, and that the yellow cultivars are variations or naturally occurring sports of the black and red cultivars. These are known to be more tender and sweeter.

Raspberries is tasty fruit and also popular in the world

These are first of a kind for me.. Never seen those. Wow.

Posted using Partiko Android

They are unique. I like their color. Thanks for commenting.

By looking those pics with raspberries my mouth is watering . I would like to taste them any way my friend is going to taste them give the feed back will u @maxrab.

I love berries a lot really something special

Me too! Berries are wonderful.

Thank you for sharing your golden Anne raspberries with us @marxrab, they are new to me as I have only ever seen or heard of the usual red raspberry! I might have to try growing them myself when the weather is right.

I had red ones growing in the garden but I had to transplant them and they didn't end up putting out fruit in the end. Hopefully will have better luck next time!

looked like caviars @marxrab, uhmm.. never seen any raspberries around except in the form of jam or syrup, and I think the fruits at the supermarket harvested before its really ripe so we don't have the eal taste like you have here. Thanks for sharing and that "Anne" must be a mouth watering one.

My, but those Anne raspberries look good! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Was 27 this morn here! BURRRR!!!!

I've never seen raspberries like those. Here, we just have red ones, as well as blackberries and black caps. Do they taste like the red ones?

It looks like you're getting a little color in the trees! Did you check to see when peak color is forcast for your area?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36