Tiny Garden Update VI

in #gardening6 years ago



Welcome to the sixth and probably one of the last tiny garden updates this year. Autumn is closing in fast. How do I know? Yellow flowers are blooming, peppermint is blooming and apples and plums are beginning to fall down from the trees. Summer is still lingering in the air, but not for long I am sure.

Month has passed quickly since the last update and I have harvested few things leaving some empty patches of soil here and there. So today I would like to share some of the things I’ve harvested and prepared for conservation and the plants that are still going strong in the tiny garden.  





Marigolds

Marigolds are one of my favorite flowers since they stay pretty for quite some time in comparison with other flowers like Zinnias for example. It is a bit heartbreaking. Every time it rains it seems the flowers are suffering some damage. Last year flowers were absolutely miserable and it was raining almost whole summer. It is lovely to cut some fresh flowers and place them in the room sometimes. It changes the whole vibe of the place.



Bell peppers turning yellow



Blooming basil

The little bumblebees and bees are still happily munching on the basil flowers. I absolutely love the scent of basil. I consider cutting some of the flowers and mix them in with little bit of lavender to create extra awesome scent bouquet.



Asparagus

Not sure if these will fully grow in time before it gets too cold. It has grown twice the size since the last update. I am not sure if it is supposed to be fully grown in the first year. Probably not.



Tomatoes



Thyme plant



Blooming peppermint

One observation this year was about bees and bumblebees. On one side of my tiny garden are my lavender plants and on the other side peppermint. Bumblebees and butterflies were all over the lavender while all the bees were all over peppermint. I think I saw only few bees around lavender when it just started to bloom and peppermint wasn’t fully blooming yet.



Parsley is still going strong





Lettuce





Lavender after harvesting all the flowers

This was the first time I harvested lavender after failing for few years in row. I did not want to cut all of it at once, so I did it in three parts instead. I also did not want to take all the delicious noms away from bumblebees and butterflies. Last couple of weeks I noticed decrease of their activity though, so I decided it was time to cut rest of the flowers. No more food here, time to team up with the bees on the peppermint!



Baby spinach

Spinach was one of the first things I removed since it was overgrown, but only after it was fully dried up and some of the seeds fell back into the soil. So hopefully I will have plenty of spinach again for salads and other noms soon unless it gets cold really fast and it stops growing for some reason.



Dill

I sow these month ago. At first it looked really hopeful, but now these tiny buddies are not doing so well it seems. Maybe it is the change in the weather from really warm to a lot cooler temperatures and rain.



Sneaky pumpkin

This one sneaked in from neighbors side of the fence, but since there is plenty of empty spaces for it to go I really don’t mind as long as other plants are not harmed or overshadowed.





Am..hemp?

I was taking some shots of the tiny garden and then I look over the pile of compost and there it was. Wild hemp appears. Made me giggle. For someone who doesn’t know very well, it could cause some good confusion.



Tiny harvest: zucchini, cucumbers, tomatoes, basil and red pepper   



Cucumbers, cucumber salad and pickles



Cherry jam, gooseberry/apricot jam and blackcurrant jam, yum! ^^  



Dried herb collection: lavender, red clover, yarrow, Lady’s Mantle, peppermint, chamomile and calendula

Most of these will be used for consumption in form of tea. However, I really hope to get my hands on the ingredients and tools for soap making. I also would like to use some of the lavender in sauna. Make tiny lavender pillows to place on the face during sauna or meditation since lavender has very calming effect on nervous system.







That’s it for today!

I am so grateful for all the treasures mother earth provides me with. Thank you!

Song of the day: The Chemical Brothers - Go
Sort:  

Very impressive M, or should we call you Maya the bee. A lot came out of your efforts regardless the size of your garden. I can imagine the fragrances and when a little rain falls it amplifies the smells of fresh flowers and herbs. Hemp, so you have no idea where that came from hey?

Aww thank you :) I am really happy with all the things my garden has provided and just the pure joy and stress relief working there. Harvesting things is lovely, but so is the whole process :)

Ah, yeah. I am not even joking. I remember it sometimes showing up randomly, but dad always said that it is not the "real" one. Had not seen it for couple of years I think. Not sure if it can be used for anything, don't have enough knowledge about these things.

Oh so that's your story and you're sticking to it hey?

"wild" hemp... the seeds just somehow landed in the compost? chuckles

Am, I bet someone just plucked it from the ground and threw them in compost. I really have no idea where they came from, but I remember they've been there for years. Had not seen them past few years though, so it was surprise lol

well that's pretty neat... is it any good? have you tried?

Hi m31. Nice update and you have got plenty out of it this year it seems. I like the sneaky pumpkin, a bit of a bonus if you eat pumpkin. Jams and bottled things look good though.

Hi cryptoandcoffee. It's been pretty good year for cucumbers, pumpkins, zucchinis, all the leafy greens and berries.

Pumpkins are extra sneaky indeed. I had bought this tiny pumpkin seedling I wanted to plant next to my garden, but my brother mowed the lawn and by accident killed it before I got to plant it. So I was really happy when I discovered pumpkin growing in the compost pile from a seed of previous year's pumpkin and now this sneaky one from neighbors, lol.

Have this pumpkin salad I really enjoy, maybe I will share a recipe later :)

Everything looks so vibrant.... i might have to paint some of this :)

Oh that would be really interesting to see, hehe ^^

Looks like a pretty productive season, even if a few things didn’t quite make it. I’m especially jealous of the herbs! We didn’t grow any this year, although we usually only do a few basics. I’d really like to try lavender sometime soon. Beautiful photos of all your garden goodies!!!

Thank you so much @melodyrussell! :)

Yeah, fresh herbs are nice for cooking and it is absolutely amazing feeling to just stroll in the garden to pick them up for some nice dish ^^

Lavender is fantastic. I seriously dream about having a field of lavender one day. Lavender for all! <3

I anticipate the feeling of your harvest is similar to how I experience coming back with a bucket of blue bilberries from the woods; it's pretty darn awesome!

Maybe at some point your tiny garden will give so much food that the next crash of the economy won't even bother you :D

You are right, it is pretty darn awesome ^^ It is not only the harvest of course. It is the whole process from preparations, planting and watering, and fighting weeds and just really nourishing every single plant :)

Haha! I would love to learn how to be fully self sufficient , grow everything I need and then some to make homemade/handmade goodies for farmers markets or something like that. I would love to learn more crafting skills, pottery, art etc. and simply make epic stuff.

The key is to put a tiny piece of your heart in everything and it seems to melt the hearts of others too :)

My garden is a weed forest at the moment. It’s been neglected hard.

Marigolds are good for keeping some bugs away as well.

Yeah, I've read about it so I began planting them between some vegetables and herbs as well to scare them bugs away :)

beautiful beautiful garden! thank you for sharing your lovely photos and harvests with us <3

Que bellas y frondosas se ven esas plantas amigo saludos que bueno cuando la dicha es buena

Muchos gracias :)

You got a 43.57% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16