The Magical Urban Garden That Feed's San Francisco's Hungry

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

20171013_105346.jpg

In one of the roughest neighborhoods in San Francisco, I found the most magical urban garden. Meeting this garden filled my inspiration cup up to its brim and now I hope to spill some over to you.

I love San Francisco. This is a city that has kept all its microcultures intact. They linger in the alleys, small unique shops, parks, and cafes.

20171013_104210.jpg

The garden is tucked away in a corner lot, in shouting distance from city hall. Butterflies and flowers surround the small property, creating a pollinator sanctuary. The middle has beds full of food producing plants. A large mural towers above the neat rows of plants.

The gate was open and it had a sign welcoming visitors in. I walked over to the lone gardener who had just opened up. He was tending to some new kale starts. I introduced myself and inquired about the garden.

20171013_104234.jpg

The Tenderloin People's Garden has four roof-top gardens for the low-income residents of the buildings. They are active in food justice efforts, helping impoverished areas have better access to healthy food choices. One problem in poor areas like the Tenderloin is no access to healthy and affordable food. When the garden opened, its main focus was to get healthy food to the residents in the area. It is open Monday, Wednesday and Friday 10 am – 12 pm for volunteers who feel like working in the dirt. It is an oasis in concrete, a rare place in the dense city to recharge and connect with the earth. Harvest is on the second and fourth Wednesday of every month 10 am – 12 pm. During harvest, they set all the produce on a table free of charge for whoever needs it the most. For a lot of people, this is the first time they ever had access to organic produce.

20171013_104258.jpg

20171013_104425.jpg

20171013_095650.jpg

20171013_104312.jpg
This is a collard tree, it's like a tree of kale! I want one!

20171013_105226.jpg

I met a man who lives in the apartment above the garden. He tends to all the flowers on the ornamental side. It's a favorite place for the Bees. He told me he sits there often watching the city go by, feeling surrounded by nature. Here he has found a paradise, a direct connection to something real in a plastic world.

20171013_104431.jpg

20171013_104526.jpg

20171013_104456.jpg

20171013_104653.jpg

20171013_105107(0).jpg

I was told a story about a woman visiting from Japan. She spent four of her vacation days working in the dirt and tending the plants. She said it was something she had to do. The natural world heals the unseen wounds of the soul. It soothes the stress of “progress” which has further taken us from the world that we belong to. From the true things that sustain us and our emotional, instinctual self.

Big Love.
Ren

Sort:  

This warms my heart! The first area I lived in when I moved to SF (a very long time ago) was the Tenderloin, I was a young teen and on my own but it was exciting and all was fine in the end. I did get into a couple rough situation (both at night) and it did not help that my apt access was from an alley. I actually had a rougher time when I lived on the corner of Scott and Hayes across the park from the famous Painted Ladies row houses. ha.

People know how to take care of each other if they are just given a chance, I have often found. It's the bureaucracy that always gets in the way, either with fees and fines, and taxes, or heavy restrictive oversight.

Fantastic post, as usual. <3

"People know how to take care of each other if they are just given a chance, I have often found. It's the bureaucracy that always gets in the way, either with fees and fines, and taxes, or heavy restrictive oversight"

I completely agree this that statement! Most places that people said not to go I had people watching out for me, and those same places don't have grocery stores, and are over regulated and cant have a porch garden among many other things that make it harder than it needs to be just to survive.

That is very cool you know the area, what an adventure as a young girl in the big city alone.

I feel like we live in a time where it is possible to break these chains, certainly Steemit and cryptos are cool beacons in the dark of this control grid.

Like you, I have a bit of the rebel gene in me. hehe. <3

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

That would be wonderful! Thank you so much!

It's nice to see people doing projects like this for others, only by education and hands-on work can we escape obesity and bad food.

It is true! I have met kids that have never seen a whole carrot or know that the chicken on their plates is from the animal chicken. If we don't recognize what our food is, then we can't fix our bad eating. To respect something makes you value it as a resource and that kind of change is permeant. Thank for reading @calatorulmiop!

Nice post AND nice pics..thanks! :)

Thank you for reading my blog!

Really nice program. Maybe better if there will be a near grocery store there where food items are affordable.

I agree, I think things are changing. More amazing outreach groups are fighting for food freedom for people who don't have access.

Nice post, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for reading, glad you liked it.

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-33

Follow @businessres to receive an upvote on a post or comment from @businessbot

What a great idea. Lovely pictures as well. Would be cool if they joined us here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77