You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Glass gem corn.

in #gardening7 years ago

This corn and White sweet corn are the only two you can get anymore that are not GMO. If you see silver queen you can faithfully purchase it knowing that Mansanto has not tinkerd with its genetics....yet. As I understand it is some what resistant to having its genes manipulated.

Going to have to get some of these seeds and plant it this spring. Ilove some good popcorn but have been hesitant to buy it in recent years simply becuase of the GMO factor.

Another great post found on @Jerrybanfield's discord #resteem-request channel. I think this is the second of your I found over here.

Sort:  

I'm glad you found my post. Strawberry corn is another type of popcorn breed that should be g.m.o. free. They grow very small plants and cobs. The plants are about 4 foot at maturity with 2-3 inch cobs that resemble strawberries. I'll have to check my stash and see if I have any more of those seeds.

Good to know. May want to share that information with @papa-pepper. Perhaps between all the homesteaders on STEEMit we could all get together and build a seed store. This way everyone could share the bounties each year with good seeds from other STEEMian gardening experiences.

That would be really fun and productive. I've been thinking about how to make a good benifit project to send extra seeds to less fortunate farmers. Places like India that have been affected my g.m.o.'s really bad.

Painted Mountain (short cool season flour corn), and Painted Hills (sweet, but not super sweet) corn are also nonGMO and are nutrient dense higher protein corns. Like @dirtyhippie said above, you want to pay attention to what is being grown nearby and planting times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65373.54
ETH 2639.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84