Composting Begins Today!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!


source : judopuff

Yesterday I got myself 3 meters of chicken wire and cut it in half to form a compost guard. I have been reading and researching on practical ways to reduce organic waste at home.

I realize that majority of our trash were raw kitchen scraps and it's kinda annoying to find them filling our trashbins so quickly. They also stink and I thought since they are biodegradable, why not use them as natural fertilizer? I love plants but I do not have enough fertile soil to nourish them. Until one time I went outside the house and saw we have plenty of fallen dried leaves from our Tambis tree. That kinda made me search on google about composting in smaller areas like in our yard.

I found out that inorder for the raw kitchen waste not to stink is to add or mix it with a little higher amount of brown matter such as dried leaves and non glossy papers which is available at home.

To make the long story short, I decided to purchase chicken wire instead since composting bins or huge plastic boxes are a lot pricey and it is way difficult for me to mix the compost ones they start cooking. They are a lot more practical too unless of course if you really wanna compost a very small amount of waste at home then a 15L plastic storage box is a lot better to carry or drag around.

IMG-20180410-WA0010.jpeg

The 3 meter chicken cost me Php250.00 (Php80.00/m). After encircling it I realize the pointy edges kinda hurts when touched so I looked for a tape to suppress the poking wires. It might also prick my little cousins' fingers when they want to get involved in this project so I taped the top with packaging tape. That gotten rid of the poking wires.

IMG_20180411_174142.jpg

The weather is pretty perfect to sweep off the dried leaves earlier this afternoon so I brought the compost guard along with me and start gathering my carbon or brown source wastes. This will be layered with the nitrogen or green source wastes (raw kitchen scraps and grass clippings) and be sprinkled with water. These 3 steps layering will be repeated until I fill the guard.

IMG_20180411_171115.jpg

Waste management is really a big issue here in our city and it is kind of sad that majority here in our country does not practice waste segregation nor recycling. I wish to become a good example to neighbors hoping they will practice this too and hopefully, our city's waste will be extremely reduced eventually.


@hr1

Sort:  

That's interesting. The truth is, earth is a finite place and if we continue to degrade and use up natural resources without replacing them, we will soon run out of resources. That's why waste segregation and disposal is necessary. Sometimes, it's also important to consider re-using certain items if we can, instead of constantly discarding them and buying new ones.

true. that is why i think it is best to plant more and feed plants with organic stuff, that would make a positive domino effect. in addition, it lessens the pollution as well and what is left that is non biodegradable should be reused and upcycled.

Composting should be a habit... at least if you live in a countryside :) But even if you live in a city you can get yourself a compost bin. Yours is much better though, cause oxygen can flow freely... it might be a problem for people living in condos though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29