A little walk through my garden, progress and failures with an extra surprise at the end. ENJOY

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I am back in my garden looking at what's working and what isn't. I am a bit disappointed in some of the plants I bought. I received a few through the post, when they arrived some of them didn't look very good, some were badly bruised the leaves had gone all mushy, I only bought 5 plug plants thinking that would be enough to make a lovely show of flowers in a round pot.

HOW THEY ARRIVED

I hoped I had caught them in time, I potted them straight away in good compost, watered them but only 1 only 1 out of the 5 has survived.

PLANTED ON ARRIVAL 2 WEEKS AGO

HOW THEY LOOK TODAY

These are Petunias which have cost me £.8.99 .One is growing really well as for the other 4 there are just dry sticks sticking out of the soil, I think I have lost these. Pretty expensive plant working out £8.99 for one plant.

The next are my seeds I planted by myself, I planted around 8 pots, 7 are growing really well where 1 pot nothing is showing.

MY SEEDS

ONE POT NOTHING IS GROWING

I keep watering them in the evening when the sun has gone down but nothing is working, have I lost these seeds or should I be a bit more patient.

MY HERBS ARE GROWING SO WELL, SO PROUD





I also found something that really made me smile, My rose trees are taking awhile to bud, I was starting to get worried about them but after taking a good look found this.

Hope you enjoyed little trip through my garden seeing my progress, failures and and a extra surprise at the end.


Thank you son-of-satire

Sort:  


Nice post! Do you recommend repotting a plant that has died but has a few sprout leaves turning green?

If you still have some green shoots I would def re-pot as there's still something there :)

Thanks my wife & I picked up a nice pot at a yard sale that had a dying plant in it & its been hanging in there thru the past winter & fall but I'm not much of a green thumb per se

I would try re potting, possibly giving it some plant food too, let me know how it goes good luck :)

Absolutely! Thanks for the advice. I may have to take on a blog & treat it as a @karenb54 / Feed Me Seymour project :) My favorite movie believe it or not

Bless you don't get out much lol :)

Great article, I would love to have a garden too, you're lucky! Have a great day

Thank you. I only have a small par for my flowers and herbs, they are all in pots :)

Wow, your herbs are really growing very well.
You have a nice green garden (when I also look at your other posts).

Hopefully more flowers start showing up soon :)

Excellent post dear friend @ karenb54 I usually like to do my plants from the seed, when I buy plants I go I and the eleigio and I bring them myself, I do not trust in the selection and sending of third.
Congratulations every time they are more beautiful.
What do you get a good week?

Thank you @jlufer, hope you have a peaceful week :)

The garden looks great. I wish my thumb was a bit more green

Thank you, I am just starting out, finding it quite fun :)

Wow, I would have expected more than one to survive out of the bunch. What is the company's policy on replacement/credit? I'd at least e-mail them the pics and ask.

Your herbs are certainly happy! I'll bet it smell amazing.

I wasn't going to bother but then they have spoiled my plans so they must pay, I emailed them, they refunded the full amount so I got 1 plant for free :)

Awesome! It pays to squawk now and then.

Thanks for the tour. Too bad about your petunias. Some mail order places have plant guarantees, where they will replace plants that don't make it. You would still have time to get flowers from new plants, if they have that kind of deal. At least seeds are less expensive! When a whole batch fails like that one pot, it really makes you wonder. But your herbs do look great!

My herbs are flourishing, pretty annoyed at my perunias, I'm going to email the company :)

Let us all know how your petunia accountability project goes!

I emailed the company they had refunded the whole amount so I got the £8.99 back :)

That's great. So you are ahead 1 petunia, and out the time and effort. Sometimes that's the life of a gardener! Good for you on following up with the company.

Thank you, I will pot all my spare flowers in that pot :)

That's a gardener's way of thinking, alright! Here's to lots more flowers in your garden!

Hopefully I will have a pot full of different blooms :)

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for visiting :)

Herbs are always a delight to have in your garden aren't they! Hooray for growth!

Very true and Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11