Carrots are Ready

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_0855.JPG

The carrots I planted in early April are finally ready to start harvesting. As you can see the carrots mostly are a good size and have a nice shape to them. I will harvest approximately a third of this bed and leave the smaller ones in the ground another week or two to give them a chance to grow larger. I don’t want to let them go too long however since they will be at risk of ground pests the longer they are in. You can tell they are ready if you see the carrot popping out of the ground.

IMG_0852.JPG

IMG_0853.JPG

Carrots prefer cooler weather. Perfect growing conditions would be nights in the 50’s and days in the 70’s but I’ve found they can produce all summer in my location and can tolerate light frost as well. I usually do three plantings. One in the beginning of April, one in the beginning of June and one toward the end of July for harvest in late autumn. This keeps me in carrots for half the year.

I plant carrots in squares as most things in my garden. The whole idea to planting in squares is to maximize space. The ground must be loamy with good drainage for any root crop to thrive so adjust your bed accordingly if you have a lot of clay or rocky soil. A good rounded organic fertilizer is recommended since carrots are fairly heavy feeders.

So once my bed is ready I move some soil to one side, spread my seeds down as even as possible, and rake back the displaced soil. They should not be planted too deep - 1/4 to 1/2" is deep enough. I keep the ground evenly moist without overwatering while waiting for the seeds to emerge. Carrot can take a little longer to germinate than some other seeds such as lettuce, radishes or beets so don’t get discourage if they don’t pop up right away. They should emerge in 7-10 days however.

IMG_0695.JPG

After they emerge I keep them watered but don’t disturb them for a week or two. I then do an initial thinning so the tiny plants are 1-2” apart.

IMG_0699.JPG

A couple weeks later I’ll go through again and thin until they are 2-4” apart. It is important to thin them sufficiently or your carrots will not grow big.

IMG_0850.JPG

IMG_0851.JPG

Usually not all my carrots come out perfect but if I can get 75% or better to form nice carrots I feel the crop was a success. Some carrots will be deformed or cracked which is usually caused by poor soil conditions, harmful nematodes or inadequate watering. Carrots prefer even watering of around an inch a week so don’t overdo it but keep them wet. Of course there is nothing you can do if you are in a monsoon season. Adding compost which is rich in predatory microorganisms can help with nematodes.

Here are a few ugly ones that came out today.

IMG_0856.JPG

But if conditions are ideal and soil is prepared properly your results should look something like this (this picture was taken a few years ago).

IMG_0150.JPG

Thanks for reading and good luck with your carrots. Please upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.

Sort:  

I've never tried to grow carrots, but you made it look so easily. I guess Ill grow them next year. what are you going to make with all of them?

I use them in soups and salads and stews among other dishes. Root crops hold up well in the refrigerator so they will all get used. I put one in my salad every day.

nice. :) I love carrot ginger juice. :) and soup

Very nice. Always good to see someones success in the garden. They look really tasty. Except the two ugly ones. lol :)

I use as much as possible with the ugly ones too. They taste better than they look lol

Wow! I envy you already for your beautiful garden 😀 🤣
I can't wait to start growing my own fruits and vegetables.
Those carrots are so fresh and captivating. Can I have one please? 😀

Thank you. Sure you can have one.

So kind of you. 👍

I'm going to check one of my carrots this weekend, if I get the chance.
I definitely don't live in a cool area, but the carrots are a little bit shaded.

Yeah that helps a lot. The south end of my garden starts getting shaded around 1 or 2 in the PM. I grow lettuce and other cool loving stuff all summer in those beds.

see, now my carrots , also planted in april are tiny... they put so much effort into the greens that i fear i wont get any carrots by fall....as they are only a 60-75 day crop, i think they are going to bolt before i get any good root growth.

Sounds like they're are either planted too close or you have too much nitrogen.

yeah...i'm thinking too much nitrogen. we fertilized this batch of soil when we got it delivered. Then we kept feeding a very low amount of 2-2-2 (diluted 10-10-10) for the first 4 weeks. i think we had an already nitrogen rich soil, and adding ammendments to it just made the N ratio too high.. we had also ammended with enzymes and organisms to improve fertilizer release when we mixed the soil, added worms, compost etc... the normal stuff you do to prepare soil, and all of the root vegetables did this. the radishes, beets, and probably the carrots too....i didn't find out about root vegetables not really liking fertile soils, and that they tend to do better in a poorer quality soil... oh well, you live and you learn.

Check my post on beans. That's another plant you need to be careful not to over fertilize.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@garden-to-eat/string-beans-and-lima-beans

ok, cool... but we have for the most part stopped feeding everything for the moment...

Nice harvest and thanks for sharing the whole process. Very useful information and I bet my bunny will be happy to eat the ugly ones hehe

That's a good thing to do with the ugly ones but I don't have a bunny so I'll have to salvage what I can.

well just let them sit in the compost bin

Great crop. Is there any certain way you go about thinning them? just pluck them out of the surface, or do you clip them low with some scissors?

I tend to pluck them up and out, but sometimes disturb the ones around it. I plant them too thickly maybe. If you have a special way you do it I'd like to hear it!

I just pull them out. It really doesn't seem to disturb anything.

Nice! Those are gorgeous. I'm still yet to have a solid carrot harvest. I'm good at growing baby carrots, haha! Glad to be following ya. :)

Thanks. Mix in compost next time and thin more maybe. That may help them get bigger.

Nice! Yeah the first time I attempted carrots I didn't add any compost and it was super clay soil. It was my first garden and I made every mistake in the book. Learned a lot though!

Never stop learning

i need some carrot too!
will ask you some advise when i will start it for sure
your carrot looks awesome!

Thanks. Happy to help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23