First Harvest : CantaloupesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

In my Front Micro-Garden I have a cantaloupe plant (or maybe plants) growing all over the place. With all the flowers that bloomed and with the help from a few bees, I have two cantaloupe growing and one of them was ready to pick. My wife read a tip on choosing cantaloupe, which was to pick them with a little bit of yellow, but not too much of a yellow spot. Well, about two days ago, the cantaloupe was mostly green and then it quickly changed to yellow. I was waiting for the webbing to grow all over, but I guess that is not going to happen with this variety of cantaloupe.

The result, as you will see, is a that the melon grew almost to the edge and the seed pocket wasn't very deep. The taste was definitely cantaloupe, but not very strong. Possibly, having left it out for a couple of days longer put it in the "just a tad too ripe" category.

I cut it up and put it in the refrigerator and it tasted even better this morning. Yum!

I saved a bunch of seeds to plant next year.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges
redFish.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

I liked your video. The taps trick to know if the melons are ripe I see that it is international, hehehe.

I don't think melons are native to America.
And a quick search leads me to believe that the Romans spread them around the known world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77