Gardening with Bozz: 6/12/2018

in #gardening6 years ago

It has been about a month since I got my plants in the "ground".

I am pretty happy with the growth I am seeing so far. The plants are starting to flower and now hopefully the bees will do their job.

The middle plant looks like it is starting to lean kind of funny, so I am going to have to keep an eye on it in case I need to guide it up the cage.

I am a bit surprised, but I think the one that I was most concerned about to begin with is going to be my biggest one.

So far taking care of the cherry tomato plants hasn't been too big of a deal. When I remember I fill my watering can and I give them all a drink. They seem to be able to hold up pretty well so far to me skipping a day or two.

Hopefully we can get some rain soon and that will help things along. I always tell myself "farmers don't always water their fields, so why do I need to constantly water my garden".

We will see how well my logic holds up :)

Here are some bigger pictures:

IMG_20180612_174424.jpg

IMG_20180612_174428.jpg

The one on the left above is the one that I think is going to be pretty impressive.

Using my parents old frosting buckets and cutting the bottoms out of them has been working really well.

I think I am definitely going to use this method again in the future and maybe expand my garden to include some peppers. Next year I am also going to make sure I till up the soil on the bottom before I place my buckets. Hopefully the worms are doing their job, but it never hurts to help things along.

Keep an eye out for me feed as I will be posting updates as the season progresses. This weekend we are supposed to get some hot and humid weather, so I wouldn't be surprised if the plants have a growth spurt here soon!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Why do you put them in buckets? Is it too stop them spreading out of control? I might check earlier posts, maybe you already said it...

About a foot down in the main bed it is all rocks. I wanted to give the plants more room for their roots. So now they have all of the bucket, plus all of the bed below. Also, it raises them up so they are easier to maintain and it helps to cut down on the weeds. I can throw my mulch and compost all around the buckets to do it's job without disturbing the plants.

Sounds great, I might have to give it a go. In winter, does it help with the frost? I guess you can cover all around with mulch?

I don't usually plant until we are done getting frosts for the season.

You will need to show us these then the tomatoes appear. Its far to cold to do this outdoors where I live.

Yes, hopefully I will be able to get some pictures like that in the next month or so. Depends on what the weather brings.

LOOKIN' GOOD!!!

"farmers don't always water their fields, so why do I need to constantly water my garden"

I have to tell myself this too.. hubby thinks I coddle plants too much. He's probably right- lol

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85