I have everything in the green house : It’s a muddy mess but it’s done

in #gardening6 years ago

Every year I try my damnedest to make the garden grow. Some years are harder then others.
I don’t have the long growing seasons of the states, or anywhere else for that matter.
I have to wait for the sun and the ground to thaw.
Growing in Alaska is challenging!

Today I was able to dig enough dirt to plant everything, I had just enough too. I hit frozen soil on my last few pots and was scraping a potato box like someone who scrapes their plate. Trying to get every last bit of black gold.

3B3D2E84-274E-4884-B738-D6FF5DA6409D.jpeg

So I am sure some of you noticed the tote lids on the ground. Yeah I needed something under my feet while working. I was sinking 4-6” into the mud.
I melted all that ice that was under the table. I am sure all the mud also has something to do with the rain that was never absorbed last year, the ground froze and the rain turned to snow. Last year was a bad growing season too. To much rain.
0ED45AB4-389F-4ABE-A258-3470436FEB15.jpeg

Anyways, so I was trying to think of something that would distribute my weight over a larger area. All I could think of right away was tote lids from our move.
CDB0E113-9578-4E11-A7C4-62F403056F3E.jpeg
It looked so pretty and a good idea, until I walked on it and actually used them.
The tote lids kinda worked, I didn’t sink into the mud as far. But the lids are too flexable.

I put my yellow potatoes under the table, they are out of the way there. They don’t need light yet, so its all good.
0349604A-5B2A-4290-9967-FD07EC9FB4FC.jpeg

The top of the table, it’s a mess but I am done! Yes! Now the easy part. Watching them grow.
F4605906-CC18-4448-BB7D-4715B28641D5.jpeg

But I forgot about my pumpkins.
Here is what they look like now.
F0A090AE-C1A1-40D1-B7C4-5053C789EB57.jpeg

I have a yellow bloom.
AD67A65E-5C27-4827-94D3-38F7A3A365F4.jpeg
I will need more soil. Maybe a few more pots.

Well that’s if for now, I have a killer head ache from being in the green house. It was very melty today. It got up to 60°F, then the heat of the green house was a bit much.

Hope you all are well.

Life in Alaska

• All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thank you. •

Sort:  

Wow i thought my season was short!
You should bury compost around your greenhouse
if you don't already. Cheers.

It'll up the temperature a LOT.
People grow in the winter that way.

I’ll have to think about it and do more research on it being used in Alaska. The green house not in its permanent location, so like I said I will have to think about it. But thanks.

Inspiring, it's a lot more work for you in those arctic tundra conditions. Kudos to your efforts and success. Hope you get some pumpkin. Is it a pie, carving, or soup type pumpkin?

Thanks 😊
They are mini sweeties, I think they are for pie. LOL
I would be so jazzed if I got one!

It’s all growing good, looking great!
I wish I had a greenhouse, I have a tarp garage frame I could use... maybe next year...

Hell yeah! Use that sucker! Put some 6mil plastic sheeting over that sucker! That’s what I plan on doing when the plastic is shot on these frames too. I have two, so I plan on making a long house type green house when it’s time.

So awesome!

That soil is just incredible! Please ship some to me in KY 😂

@corrielaine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83