Growing Cats And Grapes In The Homestead Garden

Checking The Grape Vines On The Homestead

Grapes are colorful and editable additions to the homestead garden. Once the plants are about four years old they can even provide a natural screen for outdoor spaces.  This group of vines are only in their second year, but are growing and maturing nicely. Grapes die back in the winter, so severely prune the old branches each year. They need a good trellis system. They need good draining soil and lots of hot sun. They quickly grow to shade a patio or arbor. They will provide an canopy for plants that prefer shade. In late August tempting bunches of delicious grapes will dangle from the vine. You never know all the benefits of the grape vine, as they change quite quickly. 

The Family Cat Sleeping In The Grapes

Since my garden is in a temporary location, it is still in pots. When I have it set up permently, then I will decide what will go into the ground and what will remain in pots. But all the grapes are growing on their trellis except this one. It was leaning over. I went over to see what the issue was and what did I find, but the family cat sound a sleep. She had knocked over the trellis and things were leaning the wrong direction. I restored order to our little vineyard and the cat left when I started to water. I did not know I was growing cats in the vineyard!

Grapes are grown for color, for leaves, and for fruit. They can grow to 20 feet, so make a nice cover for the arbor.   In spring, when the grapes leaves are new and tender but strong, is the perfect time to pick them for grape rolls. Do not wash them before freezing. While wild grapes have always had the best leaves, I have found that my domestic leaves work well if picked early in the season. Be careful not to skin the vine, as the fruit needs some leaves for it's protection, also. I gather them and freeze them to make grape rolls throughout the year. I store the leaves in baggies unwashed and in a boat box.  I wrap a dozen leaves in plastic wrap and put several dozen in a  freezer bag. Then I keep the bags in a boot box for a neat and handy freezer. 

When I am ready to use, I take out the number of packets I want to use. At that time, I thaw and triple wash. I then fill with wild rice and roll tightly and steam. Grape rolls are delicious!

When the grapes ripen we use many for the fruit bowl. If we have too many coming off at once, I wash and dry them on my dryer racks. The finished product are raisins for winter. I fill freezer bags and place several smaller bags inside a larger bag. I then clip them to a rod at the back of the freezer. A tension rod with the correct amount of rings with clips works well for this and the freezer stays neat and usable. I then take out one package at a time that has a weeks supply of raisins. 

This is just two of the ways I use the grape vine. I also make juice, jellies, syrups, and breads with raisins. What ever your family likes to eat, you can make up and dry, freeze, or can. If you want good quality food for your family, make sure you have enough to last all year. Good food and no additives or preservatives is your goal. Enjoy the fruits of your labor.

Happy Gardening On The Homestead, 

 Marla Silva @ floridagypsy   

@ 2017 floridagypsy. All Rights Reserved.    




Sort:  

Nice post @floridagypsy, thanks for sharing this content to all of us.

Loved your tips on grape vine growing. Kitty sleeping in the container and knocking the trellis over😉 I'm in Florida and have wanted to have a little vineyard. Lovely photos. Thanks for sharing🐓

I just moved from Florida and am setting up in Washington State. My grapes never died down completely in Florida, but they did rest from growing. Thank you @mother2chicks.

Best of luck in the state of Washington. Thanks for stopping by. Let us know how your new place is coming along. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94