GROWING HERBS, SO HEALTHY #GARDENCORNER

in #gardencorner5 years ago (edited)

It's so pleasant when your herb seeds germinate and grow into real, producing plants. We started ours in early April. We set up grow lights and used the pods you can buy in the big tray just like @jlsplatts. It's really a crap shoot, the thinning is always tough, but sometimes all you need is a couple of strong seeds to emerge.

In my book, all I need is to see that little green growth, that tiny little plant to smile at me.

So here we go, Robin's Herb garden.

IMG_3496.JPG

THYME OR TIME, you can never have too much OF, I use it on fish in soups and tea. OR I use it to grow things, make my hubby happy, or spend time or thyme with my wonderful family

Sweet basil and rosemary...I have read, more than once, that sniffing rosemary or basil relives anxiety

IMG_3501.JPG

Oregano is also so healthy for you helps with inflammation, and it's soooo good in sauce

IMG_3577.JPG

I am trying a new plant this year, it's a pineapple thyme. Smells awesome, so it's a winner for me already

IMG_3579.JPG

I do almost all my herbs in pots on my deck, this way I can move them into or out of the sun when needed. So when I am cooking, those beautiful herbs are ready for the taking

IMG_3581.JPG

Dill has given me some trouble this year, don't get it, last year we had dill in abundance. So tasty on fish, chicken, or in dips

IMG_3582.JPG

We planted chives several years ago and it just keeps giving back year after year and garlic, which gets planted in the fall is doing marvelous

IMG_3341.JPG

IMG_3342.JPG

Here is a really cool picture of an experimental onion I grew inside under lights when the weather was still freezing here in Upstate NYIMG_3062.JPG

I am sure I left out some of the other herbs we grow, but for me, it's all about the pleasure I get when I see things grow. I can literally spent hours just trimming, smelling and admiring my little babies grow.

IMG_3578.JPG

Hey @goat-girlz, do you garden also? How about you @flamingirl, I know @jlsplatts you have it going on with your beautiful garden. It's the best time of year for us, We Dig Gardening. Hey @sustainablelivin, what ya think? The produce we get will be on #fff real soon.

Happy gardening !

Sort:  

That's a nice assortment of herbs in your container garden!
It looks like the garlic is doing well also. Chives are like green onions, they just keep coming back every year, and they keep spreading. My green onions got out of hand a few years ago and I had to dig them all up. They were spreading seeds all over the garden. I will say, the bees like the flower heads that the green onions put up. Another good plant for bees is borage. It's edible, but it's not very good, I just grow it to attract the bees to my garden. It reseeds it's self every year and can spread, but it's easy enough to control.

I am glad you like my herb garden. I love to use the chives on potatoes. Chives can really spread out, I know because I see them in the lawn surrounding the garden. It's such a good sign when you see the bees around, a sign of a healthy environment. Thanks for stopping by, enjoy your day !

WOW you herbs are doing great must be so nice to just be able to pop outside and grab whichever herbs you need when starting a meal :)

Oh boy I love adding fresh herbs to whatever is on the stove, in salads and soups. It's really great when our tomatoes come in, nothing like fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and lots of sweet basil. I could eat that everyday. Thanks for your comment, much appreciated ! Enjoy your day !

It is always a pleasure to visit your posts I agree on the herbs but not so much on the tomatoes I do love them but they do not love me I am allergic to them and come out in a rash

I do try to garden! The last couple of years the garden has been a little sad, partly because I'm so busy with the brush goats and don't have the energy, and partly because my husband is a beekeeper and has a hive right in the garden. The bees and I don't get along very well! I really want to do herbs close to the house again, if I can keep the chickens out of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG you are amazing ! I love that your hubby is a beekeeper, so cool, we need the bees. You have chickens too, wow that's great. My cousin lives just up the road from us and she has chickens too, our source for the fresh eggs. Keep it going, I love seeing your goats. Enjoy your day and don't work too hard !

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @amberyooper.

Wow...cake again, gonna get fat ! THANKS SO MUCH for recognizing me and sending some love !

Good job @farm-mom, you do have a green thumb.

Hey sweed, you do such a great job with the gardens, my thumb may be green, but yours are dirt brown. Gotta have the dirt !!!

I love gardening and i do also

Posted using Partiko Android

That's great, how's it going for you this planting season so far? We had a rough start, too much rain. But it's getting better, suns out today. yeah !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00