Biffy's Hydroponic Set-Up - Day 15

in #garden7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!

I am going to begin to chronicle the growth of my plants as I am finally starting to see some germination from the seeds.

I planted 4 Spinach seeds in the first pod closer to the armature of the lamp. I planted 3 rando seeds in the further media pod.

I am at this moment only using the manufacturers provided planting media, but I am sure there are plenty other more nutritious mediums out there that I could be educated on.

So without any more jabber on the matter, here's my rig, pretty basic:
(don't mind the freaky looking voodoo mask that I made in probably 4th grade, things harmless)

IMG_0559.JPG

One of the Spinach seeds i left partially exposed so that I may see what is going on. You could say I used the spinach as a form of a "control" plant for my rando seeds.
IMG_0561.JPG

Of the three rando seeds, this was the most intact... I fear I may have simply waited too long to attempt to revitalize it.. But patience is key, so I will give it more time of course!
IMG_0560.JPG

Hope to see these guys grow up strong! Any advice is always welcomed here.

Cheers y'all!

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

like you said, patience is the key,so just wait for some time

FIngers crossed the whole while.

Thanks for the upvote.

My Personal experience with cutting and transplant into growing mediums. Like dirt, what you are trying to duplicate.

Soil consistence IE, what it is made of
How wet is it.
Temperature
Soil organism to stimulate germination.

Just as an observation your soil look vary wet. In soil most seed like damp in the garden group.
Thanks for the Post.

Thank you for your observation and feedback. So you think I am drowning them out?

My guess but then I have never used hydroponics to sprout seeds like this. used seed in a small pot or in just straight perllit then transplant to the growing medium. Although fascinated with this technology I no longer do it. Partly because the are not as energy efficient than growing in real soil. The other is the soil organisms that convert chemical into a form that plants can eat. I have heard of organic hydroponics were they move the soil organisms to the liquid medium. ether by creating the right mixture of micro organisms and eat, taking of the liquid extracted from soil processes or a combination of both.

immediate think in terms of providing the environment needed to sprout the seeds. Seed sellers have lots of detail on this.

All very helpful information. Thank you for your wisdom. I have absorbed what you have said here.

I’m gettin ready to set up a 3x4ft dwc bed for aquaponics gonna breed plecos and grow organic veggies all in the same system.... people think I’m crazy for this but it’s awesome, good luck on ur hydro set up

Thank you, good luck to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48