Update from the Garden

in #garden7 years ago

image.jpg
Here is a little update from my backyard on this years garden. image.jpg
We have had mixed results this year. These are my hoop s that you see marking out my garden. They are made from black water pipe I dug out of a dumpster. I have not used a tiller in about 5 years. I practice square foot gardening and keep everything close together.
image.jpg
Here is a tomato plant in a sea of onions. My tomatos got a pretty late start this year. This is my first time companion planting with onions.
![image.jpg()
I have been harvesting peas for about a month now and they are still growing strong even in this unusual heat we have been experiencing. image.jpg
Cucumbers has a slow start but they are coming on strong. Should be harvesting next week.
image.jpg
This is my first try at sweet potatoes. Deer ate them down but they seem to be coming back strong
image.jpg
Here is my tire potato garde and Brussels sprouts
image.jpg
This shot is my apple tree which is producing awsom. You can also see my pumpkin patch. Always grow pumpkin pie pumpkins foer pie and wine. Further in the background you will find our choke cherry trees. The berries are just turning. Also a couple of cows enjoying the shade .
image.jpg
To close here is my first batch of garlic I harvested this morning. Plan to use this to make fire cider for the family for Christmas this year.
Having an awsome day in my little chunk of paradise in the Dakota territory hope you are enjoying your day too!

Sort:  

You are so blessed to be afforded that kind of space - to harvest your own produce. We live in an urban environment, town house complex... so sadly, no space for that :)

Would love your thoughts on my latest posts if you have a moment.. :)

https://steemit.com/life/@jaynie/my-son-rocks-welcome-to-my-world-6

https://steemit.com/food/@jaynie/fusilli-with-bacon-and-chilli-what-s-cooking-good-looking-6

Thank You! We do enjoy our little slice of earth! Read and upvoted your posts might have to try that Fusilli

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99