You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling Blog, Vol. 20: Learning Through Video Games (the original Mega Man series)

in #gaming7 years ago

Maybe that's why I'm so much smarter than my parents, I had megaman! I actually never thought of the specific ways in which games like megaman allow you to practice skills, aside from hand-eye coordination. Thanks for that. I was personally influenced to play music, in part by video games. I went through a prog-rock phase that was extremely Megaman influenced and a new age phase influenced by RPGs like Final Fantasy. FF7 introduced me to Gaia theory, FF9 to parallel reality theories, Xenogears to Gnostic Christianity, Earthbound to psychedelia. Ah! Cool! Keep going with this series, feel free to take any of these if you are into them.

I do some Japanese language posts as well, mostly blogging and JLPT grammar, those posts are more for me than for others but feel free to stop by.

Sort:  

This is awesome to hear. That is one aspect of the game I totally forgot to cover, but which is huge! The music is great. I even remarked to my wife at one point that it is a shame that most probably don't realize how great the soundtracks are, and how much work went into composing them, because of the 8-bit instrumentation palette.

There is a fellow on YouTube who has transcribed all the songs from V to guitar and recorded a metal version of the whole game.

My son loves the tunes as well and sings them all the time.

Looking forward to reading your blog! Followed!

I have heard lots of metal versions of megaman, I think the soundtrack was written with metal in mind.

You don't listen to any chiptune? Actually I think a lot of video game music was inspired by YMO's first two albums.

Not sure what chiptune is, but I do like the 8-bit video game music. I'll check it out. And YMO as well.

Oh man, you are in Japan, no? Sexy Synthesizer was my intro to chiptune, a not very well known Tokyo DJ trio. YMCK is pretty big but all their songs sound the same. I'm gonna do a feature on another guy soon.

Awesome. Lemme know when you do it, if you can. I am indeed in Japan, but not familiar with that scene at all. Sounds awesome.👾👾👾

Here is a cheesy 8-bit cover of a non-8-bit video game song. They do covers and original stuff.

Damn copyright laws, had to delete that.

Haha, cheesy indeed, but I like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89