Stardew Valley: A Farming Game that is Also a Dating Simulator... And Wait? Its Like an RPG TOO?!!

in #gaming5 years ago


WTF did just happened to me? These past 5 days, I did nothing but just play this game called Stardew Valley. For some reason, I got sucked into the game so fast so easily despite of me telling to maya525 that "this game is so outdated, how come you children are into this?".

Obviously, I ate my words once I tried downloading it via torrent in my computer. To be honest, I just downloaded it so I can show maya525 that there is no need to buy the game for a pc unless you want to play it via Nintendo Switch.

So, just for me to be able to makeup for those 5 unproductive days, I will make a short commentary about Stardew Valley and maybe make a few more posts about each waifu in this game and commentate on each of them until I'm fully out of juice to talk about this game all and all.
break-game.png

What I experienced...

To be honest, there is a lot of things that I didn't expected in this game. When I downloaded it, I Googled a little about it and learned that its a farming sim in a really old style of graphic.

My first impression on this game wasn't as impressed because I already saw a lot of games made in this kind of genre before and I thought I would't see anything new in this game.We already had harvest moon, farmville and other games that is basically about farming that was released years ago. To be frank here, I'm not a fan of any simulation games otherwise its a dating simulator with naughty stuffs in it.

So after I downloaded it I tried a couple of the game. As most people would do when they try the game for the first time, they would probably try the first given tools which are the axe, the scythe, the hoe, the water sprinkler and the pick axe. So yeah, I enjoyed the few hours picking up wood, stones and tilling the ground and exploring the parts of the game. Then when I was able to explore some parts of it, I stopped. I thought, I should had kept on practicing for the medibang contest, there are only more than 2 months left before the deadline and I still have to figure out a lot of things in the work I am doing but spoilers I kept playing anyways.

You cannot really blame me, the game is so good that it will make you want to know more about it. The sound effects and the music makes the grinding in the game enjoyable. The grinding too isn't as long or as short for you to want to quit the game that makes you feel rewarded whenever you are able to accomplish something in the game like upgrading your house or marrying someone in the game.

The thing that surprised me in this game is how fleshed out the setting and the characters are. As I said earlier, I started out with just trying the game and looking around the parts of the game. I saw some of the NPCs of the game and I didn't expected the characters to be that interesting when I started to know more about each of them. We have a lot of characters in this game, we have a drunkard, a homeless loser that lives in a tent, a crazy bitch that plays video games and stays on front of a tower for hours for no reason, artists, stereo typical blondes of sporty ones that when you see you can tell right away that those characters are based from those stereo typical characters in movies and shows, an abused daughter, a vampire(not literally but the character almost doesn't leaves his room) and many more.

After I quit playing this Thursday, I browsed for some more information about the game like the name of the creator, the time it took to make this game. I speculated that this whole game took around five years for the creator of the game before he is able to complete his game. And... my guess wasn't as far because as said by Google it took him 4 years.

As said by Google, Stardew Valley was meant to be a clone of Harvest moon(another farming sim) with only having additional things into it that the creator of Stardew feels that Harvest Moon lacks. But because maybe the creator of Stardew has PTSD, he came overboard and made a completely better game than what he was supposed to copy.

The thing that I liked about Stardew is the part where you can choose what activities you want to be engaged in unlike other farming sims that limits you to foraging and farming. On other farming sims, you can also fish, mine and romance some of the single NPCs but Stardew made those options far more better to the point that you can decide to just mine or fish the whole game.

The romance part is also diverse because you're not only limited to romancing the ones on your opposite sex, you are also allowed to fucking marry someone on the same sex! Yes everybody, we have homosexuality in Stardew Valley and I am not against it. I'm just so amused to these details that its too much that you are even allowed to have a divorce and make your children into doves so that they no longer exist in your lives(and I will be talking about that too).





I have to admit, these scenes above made me feel uncomfortable when I watched it, hahaha

break-game.png
You might think that this post is already over but there are still things that I want to mention about this game. I already did mentioned above that Stardew doesn't really limit you with just foraging and farming it even allows you to enjoy fishing and mining. And I also mentioned that the options are vast that you can go homo in the game but thats not all folks, this game... this farming game... also has a battle system!

Yes, you heard me right, you also fight here... fight monsters. When I saw experienced at first try this part of the game I was so amused that my jaw dropped on the floor. I was like, "this game has a lot of surprises in it" and I kept wanting more. The battle system is easy as in there is an option of equiping items like hats and shoes same thing like in an RPG. And you can also pick your weapons, the same like in an RPG.

The RPG part of this game isn't as fleshed out if you compare it to some real RPG games. Well at least its there and personally I consider this part as the minigame of Stardew. Yes, there are things that you will unlock once you finish the mines(where all the fighting happens) but still, I find it less fleshed out if you compare to the other parts of this game. This is a part of the game that I like but I wish there is more to it like more items or functions(maybe).

One last thing that I want to mention about Stardew is about the dark details that the creator added in this game. I just want to comment about it. You see, there is this part in the game which you can pay a a demonic like totem to make your children become doves or to make your Ex wife forget about you. I think it is a really good touch in the game.

The monsters and these dark rituals gives the game have a more fascinating vibe into it. I can talk a lot more about how dark and evil some of the details here in this game and there are people who might disagree on it but hear me out. I'm not complaining, I actually like it.

I think details like that like in Pokemon where we have animals and make them fight each other for our amusement don't really matter if you looked on it philosopicaly as long as that detailed is pitched or is used only as for pure entertainment. Like for example, again, in Pokemon... I agree on it and there are animal groups that protest against it but they should see the point of Pokemon. Its fucking entertainment, thats just all into it. My comment on Stardew is the same. I liked it.
break-game.png

The pictures in this post are copy pasted in my Desktop

Stardew valley and Pokemon aren't my properties, Stardew Valley is a property of Chuckle Fish and Pokemon is owned by Nintendo and The Pokemon Company

11111.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33