Doom2 - Redemption Of The Slain Beta 2.0 Release and Download (Feb/8/2016)

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Here is a raw 16 minutes of black metal difficulty for Redemption Of The Slain Beta 2. This includes the new area of the map as well as all of the most recent game play changes.

This release includes one additional level that was not present in the previous version. I have also done a ton of changes based on feedback so everything should feel and play a lot better than before. My plans are to add one final battle section at the end of the level which will be included in the next version of the map.

Keep in mind that this is an episode not just a level.

-=Installation Instructions=-

Note: if you already played beta 1.0 and still have all of the files in a functional state the only thing you need is the ROTS.wad and you are good to go.

Make sure to have a copy of the original Doom2.wad. You can get this by buying a copy of Doom 2 on steam. If you dont have this the level wont be playable.

http://store.steampowered.com/app/2300/

You need a copy of the latest GZDoom found on the link below. Once you have this unpack the files into a GZDoom folder.

https://gzdoom.drdteam.org/page.php?page=download

Now you need 2 Brutal Doom files. One is the core Brutal Doom20b.pk3 file. Unpack brutalv20b.pk3 into the GZDoom folder.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/brutal-doom/downloads/brutal-doom-v20b-main-file-only

The second file is for the music. Unpack the DoomMetalVol4 into the GZDoom folder.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/brutal-doom/downloads/doom-metal-soundtrack-mod-volume-4

And finally a copy of Doom2 Redemption Of The Slain. Unpack all files into the GZDoom folder.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-2YIXbdMSYsQ2tBQ2xhdVRjMGc/view?usp=sharing

Ok there is one more step to the installation process. The game will crash if you dont fix an error within Brutal Doom. The error is located in a text file called blood.txt found within the Doom20b.pk3. Open up Doom20b.pk3 with a winzip or winrar and copy the blood.txt file included in the ROTS_Beta2.rar overwriting the blood.txt within Doom20b.pk3

Run the PlayROTS.bat file to begin playing the game. I use the bat file to give the game proper settings for things like mouse look and wasd movement keys by default. I also toggle a lot of basic settings that I feel work best with the level.

If you chose to play this level without the above setup then its very likely you will experience game play problems.

I hope you enjoy the level! This is still not the full release as I plan to tweak things for the final release. All feedback is welcome!

Sort:  

Hey Castle! I decided to record a play test video of this [below]. First time through the new area. I'll probably do finish the rest of the map tonight, though I have already played through it once so it wouldn't really be "virgin." I'm not sure where the best place to contact you is so I thought I'd just drop this here.
In terms of feedback, so far I'd say I REALLY like that there's even more added to the level. It could stand a couple more secrets in my opinion (as they're one of the more compelling parts of Doom for me). I died in the first lava battle, but it was my own fault for being careless; I think the balance is pretty spot on. My usual style of play is "hang back and snipe" and I kind of enjoyed how your maps pretty much forced me to furiously run and gun ... I'm just not very good at that hahah! I'm excited to see this continue to develop and if you want a beta3 playtest, let us know! :)
Playtest located at: www.redfox4.com/castle

Oh wow awesome! I didn't see this post until just now. I am actually about to release the full version of the level!
Ill still be going over peoples play throughs of it though. Ill check it out tonight once I get the new map out. :)

I just added a couple clips to the aforementioned folder. In one clip, you can see how to completely bypass the Blue Key with one grenade jump O_O. Also, there's a way to get up in the rafters without any sort of grenade jumping, though at that point it's too late for it to advance you past anything. Might be a good potential secret. :)

In a way I am not even mad about the skipping of the blue key for speed running purposes. But with that said you wont be able to get 100% secrets or items by doing that. Really awesome find.

Side note: Black Metal those two marines are not in the level.

Any idea whether this works with the Doom 3 BFG edition's included Doom 2 game mode?

This level really needs all of the scripting support from GZDoom as I do a ton of scripting within the level.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16