Review | Darkest Hour, an example of when fans surpass the company...

in #gaming6 years ago

A very interesting game, yes sir, but for the simple fact of being created by fans of the Paradox community. Something that happens a lot, when fans do a better job than the company itself, and more so when they see that the result is good, they get their share by distributing the game. What I can tell you is that this is one of the best strategy games I've ever seen. It is a mod of Hearts of Iron 2 that includes things from the Hearts of Iron 3, going beyond it, according to the opinion of the community. Come on, the job that the Darkest Hour Team team did was bestial...

Graphics

I don't think it's the best section to judge, nor do I think it has relevance in strategy games. They are 2D graphics that fulfill their function, but it is quite detailed and will avoid confusion to the player. What we can highlight is the map change that was made, making it different from HoI 2. The only flaw and what I'm going to highlight is that you can go beyond the map, when they play it, they'll know what I mean, although I honestly don't know if it's done that way on purpose.

Gameplay

Attention! Game not suitable for cardiacs. Nah, now seriously, I don't think this is a game for anyone, it's very complex but easy to understand, in the main menu you will be given a series of tutorials. Of course, you'll have to manage many screens at the same time, but it's nothing to worry about, the pause button fixes everything. You only play with the mouse, nothing difficult. The only thing that can stress you out is the fact that things happen very slowly, but don't worry, once you start conquering countries, it will take that bad taste out of your mouth. One thing I love is that it has a lot of mods to extend the hours of play, yes in a due case, you get bored.

Soundtrack

The game has an incredible ost, but some stand out more than others. But in my opinion, I prefer a thousand times the music that they put to the mod of The Great Campaign, which contains Russian, German and other music that fill you with inspiration and immerse you in the game as if you were on that battlefield. It's not something that stands out very much, but it likes it. I would leave you as usual in my posts a video with the BSO but apparently there is no, it's time to download the game to appreciate it...

To make sure you don't leave without anything, I'll leave you the music on the main screen:

Story

Strong point besides the gameplay? Well, yes. Although there is no immense work in it, it only tells the events of the first until the Second World War, with total accuracy and taking care of every detail. One thing that I thought was great is that they give choices to choose from and depending on what you do, you can change history. Communist Germany in Alliance with the Soviet Union? I got it for you. The game has an enormous amount of provinces that give a bonus to the game immense. Who would have thought? You can learn history with this game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79