Original game review: Transport Fever

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Transport Fever is infectious, and once it takes hold you're in for a deleriously fun ride.

jamjo.png

A relatively new game based off the popular Transport Tycoon series, this title truly takes it to the next dimension. As before, your goal is to transport passengers and goods across a randomly-generated landscape. I chose a 1930s starting year and Sweden as the locale. Let's get started!

region.png

Here's the local region with the towns and a river passing through. I've selected Jämjö as my base of operations because of its funny name. I imagine Jämjö as a type of Ikea furniture that you put together after a couple hours of figuring.

improvements.png

First thing I did was give the town an upgrade. See that bus stop? That will be able to accomodate many travelers. I had to bulldoze a few houses to put it there, but better to do it early before the population gets large and house prices rise! It still cost $200K though, not a measly sum. Expropriation is costly!

latikberg.png

I added a bus stop in Latikberg to give the bus station a companion in the next city over. I expect this to be the main transport line for passengers for now!

cars.png

I have my choice of transporation options. I've selected the most modern, 1920s top-seater. The Daimler. With a top speed of 35 km/h and 45 kW of power, this thing will be screaming along from one town to the next!

Line1.png

When you set up a new line, the default colour is yellow. Thus, I've dubbed it the "Yellow line".

waiting for bus.png

It works! Passengers are waiting for the bus! Local newspaper vendors are eager to fulfill the demand for reading material.

busload.png

You can view the full vehicles as they move from town to town.

Yellow line.png

The Yellow line is set up, and the people are flowing. 4 busses form the first fleet.

jamjo_Growth.png

The really cool thing about this game is the organic growth of the cities. You can connect streets together, demolish buildings, build roads and bridges and more. However people will move to the city based on jobs, transport availability and goods. So make sure your city has a good supply of all three!

New vehicles!.png

Egads! New vehicles are on the scene from the hardworking engineers of Europe.

agriculture.png

Since there's a good truck now available - the Opel Blitz - I figured we would transport some goods. From the farm to the food processing plant, this is the first part of the goods chain. I've dubbed it the 'Green line', because plants are green.

overview.png

The trucks transport grain from the farms to the food processing plant. The plant turns it into bread, which has to be transported into the city. By dropping a truck station near the downtown Jämjö it is ready to accept all the bread it needs.
I've named the new delivery route - "Bread line!"

laying rain.png

I know what the nerd in all of us is thinking: WHERE ARE THE TRAINS? I WANT A TRAIN SET! Don't sweat it. It's very easy to build rail networks and since the catenary (overhead electrical wiring) was enabled by default, I just went with it. Electrified rail is more expensive but Sweden is a future-looking country so I figure they would have electrical trains.

topo troubles.png

Sometimes there's too much curvature, the hills are too high and you have to bore a tunnel. No problem! Transport Fever makes it easy to carve a hole right through the mountain.

Datacenter.png

Opening lots of tiny windows can help you keep tabs on your transport empire! Stay informed.

Trains running.png

I've connected all 4 cities in the region with a looping rail circuit. I feel this is the most efficient way to go. There's 4 stops on this train and I've chosen the Red Arrow, an electrical locomotive with passenger carriage in the same package. Efficiency!

doubletrack.png

It's come time to upgrade as the trains have filled up and more passengers are waiting at the station. My solution? I've upgraded all the stations to two tracks and started to link them all together. As well, I've made bridges so cars don't have to wait for the train or the other train to pass by. Putting a new track is easy, you just click and drag alongside the existing track. Double the track, double the trains!

Stay tuned for more local transport improvements and innovations in my TF playthrough!

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Sure, I want as many people to play this game as possible!

Congrats on getting featured! Check out @ocd's compilation post.

I really loved Transport Tycoon and spent months playing it on and on. If i get addicted to this one either, I'll blame you, man!

I accept this responsibility. I have another article in the works about the future developments of my Swedish cities!

This looks great and are the types of games I try to stay away from...lol. I can't tell you how many times I'd play a game that had so many options and found myself losing a day or two wondering where the time had gone.

upvoted @stonedfood nice post visit my blog when you free thanks alot

Long and detailed review with lots of good pictures! Great work. Keep on writing like this! I hope to see the gaming community grow more on steemit, as I am a gamer myself too... and your posts will help do that. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05