Waterproof Gaming Keyboard!? Firerose MK3 - Rerez

in #gaming6 years ago

A little while ago on the show I reviewed a gaming keyboard and this keyboard was pretty good. I liked it a lot and gave it a glowing review. Then a whole bunch of companies out there started contacting me from all over about how they had better keyboards. Now I turned down a lot of the reviews because I didn't want to just make Rerez all about keyboard reviews because honestly after you've reviewed one gaming keyboard the design of these things doesn't change all that much. Some have different switches, some have different colors and some don't light up and some do and there's just stuff like that. But this company was very adamant about me reviewing their keyboards because they had one feature that all the other ones didn't have. Theirs was waterproof. So today we're going to be taking their gaming keyboard and we're going to be submerging it in water.

Capture1.JPG

This keyboard is called the Firerose MK3 1st Player Mechanical Keyboard and like the title says it is a mechanical keyboard. It has those little switches in the keyboard that kind of sound really loud when you type with it. There's a lot of gamers out there that really like that kind of stuff and I'm one of them. Also this keyboard has a little bit of a longer distance between the actual key being pushed down and the actual touch to the key base itself so for people out there that don't like long distance travels in their keys especially if you're a gamer you might not like this one too much. And although I got to play tons and tons of games with this I found that the rollover of my finger from one key to the other really wasn't the greatest thing in the world. The keyboard does work but I feel like it would be a better typing keyboard than it would be a gaming keyboard. Outside of that the only other thing I found that's a little bit off with the keyboard is that the LED backlight system on here was stuck on rainbow. I read through the entire manual, I tried to change it out of that but if you want the backlighting on the keys to be on it's stuck in this rainbow formation forever so that's kind of weird. Outside of that though it's a pretty solid keyboard that's really well designed. You can't remove the USB from the back or anything like that because it's apparently waterproof but it doesn't look like a waterproof keyboard. I mean looking at this thing I really felt like if I was going to dunk water on this it was going to be damaged. But here we go.

Capture2.JPG

Okay so here's how we're going to test out if this thing is actually waterproof. Now to begin with I've got a laptop here that's not running directly to power from the wall I was afraid I might get a really severe electrical shock if I tried that. And even though I'm pretty sure the USB cord will short out before anything like that happens I kind of wanted to be safe so I took some precautions and I went to the store and asked for laptop shockproof gloves. Which they didn't have but they did have these really cool looking PVC gloves which will most likely insulate me from a direct electric shock. So here's what we're going to do as you can see the game is running and the laptop inputs work so here we go let's see if this thing is actually waterproof.

Capture3.JPG

Okay so the lights are still on that looks like it works to me yeah looks like we're still pretty good. So let's just see if we can play the game a little bit. It's incredibly weird to be using a keyboard like this while it's soaking wet but it seems to be working. I can play the game just fine and even though I don't like playing Spelunky with a keyboard you can do it. So here you go game works, everything totally cool, that's kind of interesting actually. I was surprised that it would work. Okay so as far as I can tell everything looks like it's working. Now we're going to go a step further. I'm going to take a huge jug of water and I'm going to pour the water into this thing. Let's see if it works. Don't try this at home.

Capture4.JPG

Oh this is so stupid. Okay there we go. Lights are still going and it's still going. You know what these gloves are just way too thick. If I get a shock at least we catch it on camera. Okay so yeah the game is still running perfectly fine. There's no electric shocks going on so as you can see the keyboard still totally works. There's nothing going wrong with it, no shorts no nothing. I mean this is insane. I would never ever do this with the keyboard but it totally seems to be fine and it still works too. So yeah this is a functional keyboard that you can completely submerge in water.

Capture5.JPG

So there you go the Firerose 1st Player Mechanical Keyboard. It's colorful, it's really good and it's waterproof. So there you have it. This keyboard is actually waterproof even though it doesn't look like it's waterproof it totally is. And there's a lot of like nooks and crannies on this keyboard that pretty much hold the water in it for a really long time. Even after about an hour of use when I was trying to dry it off I still found there's a lot of water leaking out of the keyboard on my desk after the fact. Now if you were to just drop some water on it or maybe ketchup or something you want to rinse it off afterwards that would be fine to do but I don't recommend turning it on after you've really got a lot of water stuck in the thing only because you're just going to have water all over your desk afterwards. I've now waited hours and hours for this thing to dry off and it still hasn't dried off fully so keep that in mind. If you're looking to get something like this really what this keyboard is for are for people that are typing a lot or gaming a lot and don't want to have to worry about getting their keyboard dirty and wet and that's kind of cool. Usually when I clean my keyboards I use a can of compressed air to spray away all the dust and crumbs that may be stuck in between the keys but with this one right here you don't have to do that anymore. You can just spray it down with some water and wipe the water away and have a completely clean brand-new looking keyboard which is amazing. No longer do you have to dismantle a keyboard key by key and use a Q-tip with a bunch of alcohol on it to clean away all that Cheeto dust. All you have to do now is spray it down with some water. Ladies and gentlemen the future is now.


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
Rerez.gif

Sort:  

Sir, this is a really amazing keyboard. Its smooth and protected.

this keyboad is going to be great according to this review. how much is the product and how can it be ordered?

Thanks for sharing blog
I love your video games
I appreciatetechnology

wonderful gaming....i appreciate your blog..
thanks for sharing...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02