Guild Wars 2 - The nice commanders of Piken Square

in #gaming7 years ago

Just a small gaming post today.

I was going to talk about weather in Ark, but I'm not feeling so well, so it's hard for me to concentrate right now. Instead of doing the research and writing a longer post, I'm going to leave you with a little explanation of what a commander does in Guild Wars 2.

Guild Wars 2 has this thing called World vs World vs World, aka WvW. Three different servers fight for dominion over a few maps with castles, towers, supply camps, etc. People are able to tag up, meaning they get this big, blue (or red/purple/green) 'dorito' over their head, so they will be easy to spot amongst a group. These people are called commanders and they will generally lead the server group. Most people will follow this commander around, so you can get big group fights and take over key points. If you're lucky, you even get a three way battle. I'll look up some screenshots of those kind of numbers later.

Generally, you'll be on a voice chat, like Team Speak, with your group, so you can listen to the commander and people can warn him about any threats.

These commanders will normally lead you to keeps, castles or fights. Anything to conquer. We all follow them so they will lead us to victory... most of the time. In this next screenshot you see what might happen when a group blindly follows their commander.

gw017.jpg

In this case, our commander led us right off of a cliff. To our deaths.

We still love our commanders.



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Nice post!

BTW, are you part of the steemtrail?
Or are just discord in general?
I have a question/proposal for you if you are there

Thank you :-)

I am in the steemtrail channel in discord, yes and also part of it as far as I know!

could you then perhaps come there now :) I'll be connected to the steemtrail channel.
If I won't be answering, you message me a PM please :)
I'm there as Kralizec BTW

Was your commander a lemming? I have never checked out this game, but it looks quite interesting.

Our commander was a bit of a joker! It's a really fun game. I was hooked on WvW for quite a while, but there's also PvP and ofcourse, the biggest part: PvE. We're doing the new PvE story line right now, though I've skipped a lot previously. WvW took up all of my time ;-)

Quite a few of the game related cryptos give you coins for playing, you should see if any of the games you play are listed. I used to do this https://digibytegaming.com/leaderboard?mode=all_time profile is fixsur

Oh that's awesome! I'll have to remember that one if I start playing WoW again... thanks! :D

:O Greatt gaming..!!

It's lots of fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29