Gaming - Overlord, my descent into darkness

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I won a Steemit giveaway contest! It gave me a gamekey to the game Overlord, here's my first adventure into the game.

20170621101341_1.jpg

@Betelzeus hosts game giveaways sometimes and this time, I happened to notice his post not a minute after he posted it. It was a giveaway for the game Overlord, which I had heard about before. It seems like an interesting game, so I quickly searched for the answer to his question and I was first to answer!

I installed the game right away and gave it a spin.

20170621101418_1.jpg

The minions start by giving me a couple of compliments as I wake up. Exactly as they should.

20170621101435_1.jpg

There I am! So that's where the Lich King got his dress-code!

My helper, Gnarl (which was also the answer that won me this game) continues to tell me he is a minion master. Surely he must be mistaken though, as everyone knows, since the original Guild Wars, that I am, in fact, the minion master.

No matter, I forgive him!

20170621101619_1.jpg

He procedes to tell me how I can summon some minions to help me out. Look at them, following me closely. I will be sure to protect them (or maybe send them to their deaths, if it benefits me, but don't tell them I said that).

20170621102409_1.jpg

Gnarl teaches me how to fight next, before I go out into the big bad world where I am the biggest and baddest.

20170621102440_1.jpg

He wants me to attack this jester, while my minions cheer me on. Not a problem!

20170621102554_1.jpg

Ofcourse, I am too awesome to finish off a simple jester, so I send my minions after him instead.

Enough playing though! Off to the throne room.

20170621103049_1.jpg

Apparently, it has been partially destroyed and I need to find and return its energy source!

20170621103147_1.jpg

This little puddle here is supposed to teleport me to its last known location... What could possibly go wrong!

20170621103504_1.jpg

Oh my gosh! Look at this beautiful place! Ehm, I mean this horribly lush place of horribleness...

20170621103619_1.jpg

How cute! Wait, I have to kill them? Oh my gosh, it's hard being evil.

Gnarl really is a joker though, which makes all this killing a lot easier!

20170621104008_1.jpg

Oh look! I found a crazy farmer/scarecrow, scarefarmer! Now let's give my minions something fun to do... Pumpkin smashing time!

20170621104344_1.jpg

Oh my gosh, they can't take anything seriously!

20170621104834_1.jpg

We found the energy source, the Tower Heart! Time to get back!

Before I return to the land of those pesky halflings, I'm going to share some keys I have just learned. Not really for your amusement, but for my own knowledge.

WASD for moving, like most games.
Spacebar for attacking with my axe.
Shift + Left click to send a minion. Hold to send more.
Shift + Right click to recall a minion.
Left + Right click to move my minions around.
Tab to open quests and status (and to shut up the jester).

Alright, I think this post has grown big enough already. I'll leave it here and return with more later!


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Overlord was nice :) i played it 2008 i think and it was a lot of fun :D followed and upvoted ;) feel free to do the same :)

Hey @playfulfoodie good to see you are liking Overlord ... it does look like it's pretty cool after all that. And I see that you mentioned me in this post and another about the game giveaway ... many thanks for that :)

Cool ... happy gaming :)

It's really fun and looks better than I would have first thought!

Ofcourse I mentioned you, it was the least I could do :D

NICE PLAY AND SCARY)))) HE HE

I really didn't know what to expect! As soon as you leave your little cavern though, you enter a very pretty world and your helper is really quite funny :D

It is a great game, I played it for a while. However I stopped playing it because it has very few savegame locations, so I has to play again the same parts over and over.

Yeah, I was wondering about the saving options! I decided to play it safe and log out in my throne room, before heading out on a new adventure.

This was one of my favorite fighting game, but i stopped playing games a year ago

Completely? Why'd you do that?

I was becoming addicted, gaming was taking almost 40% of my time

Aah, well good choice then :-)
I've spend that much time on gaming aswell, though I didn't really feel like I was addicted. Just didn't have much else to do. Now that Steemit's here, I've cut back on my gaming time a lot. I don't play every day anymore. Once we move in about a month, practicing archery will take up some time aswell, as we can do it in our own backyard there. Yeah, I'll become a well adjusted girl some day!

Ok maybe it because you're a woman that why you didn't get addicted in gaming, I remember me my friends we used to stay indoors the whole day betting on FIFA but I'm happy Steemit is here now to replace gaming

I've spend many long evenings raiding in WoW and besides that, gathering all sorts of things to make this raiding possible, but as I said, I don't consider it an addiction if there's not much alternative. People spend their whole evening watching television. If that's not called addiction, neither should gaming.

Anyway, I am indeed happy there are some alternatives to enjoy!

I've never played it, it seems scary, so: I like it ^_^

Yay ^^ well, to be fair, it's actually less scary than it looks at first! It's mainly quite funny aswell :D

Very good ... continued

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85