My relationship with videogames and my love/hate with “The cursed tower”.

in #gaming6 years ago

Hi steemians, today I’ll leave my comfort zone, I won’t write about what I usually do, this time I’ll write a little bit about my relationship with video games in general, and a quick review of one in particular that I played a couple days ago and it's won my love/hate haha.

I love video games, but I don't consider myself a gamer, in fact I've always had a weird relationship with them, and this is because my favorites categories "aren't common", for example with action and suspense/horror video games I get nervous and logically I lose, I think a get so involved in the game that I guess that's the reason why that type of games causes me a lot stress. So, I don't like that kind of game for playing, but... I like watch them, I mean, when someone else is playing, and if this game has a good story behind, it's better, a quick example could be: Assassin’s Creed, God of War and Mass Effect, video games that I enjoyed very much when my boyfriend played them.

My type of video games are of hidden object, simulation, and platforms (even if I'm very bad in those ones), in fact generally I only play some games in my smartphone like: "Clash royale", "Piano tiles" and "Pixel dungeon". Normally I don't have so much time for leisure because the university absorbs me, then when vacation arrive is that I take the opportunity to update myself with series, movies, books, and to play some new video game.

A month ago I downloaded "The cursed tower" on steam platform because it caught my attention and was (and still) free to play haha.


Now I'll comment you a little bit about this video game and I'll tell you my experience with it.

Note: the purpose of this publication isn't to make a guide or spoiler of this video game.


Screenshot made by me while playing.

The cursed tower is a video game developed by Mohsin Rizvi, which is important to say that he is a university student, so he created this video game in his free time, I think it's very interesting because that shows the huge ingenuity and talent of this person. It was released free of charge through the steam platform on 02/06/2018, it corresponds to the platform and adventure category, until now it's only found in English and for PC.

His story revolves around our main character whose job is to be a postman, one day he has to deliver a letter, very normal so far, but the destiny place doesn't have anything normal at all, it turns out that it's a cursed castle that hides a big and sinister secret, besides it's full of all kinds of obstacles, the only thing we have to defend ourselves is a letter opener, I mean it's melee kind so we don't have much advantage, also we can jump in two ways (low jump and high jump), and that's it.

Image made by me from a screenshot while playing.

Screenshot made by me while playing.

This video game has simple and pixelated graphics, the color palette looks very pretty and striking, characteristics that together make it very attractive. About the music it's repetitive but it's acceptable and the sounds in general are very funny.

When we enter to the game menu we can see that it shows an intro, 4 levels plus the end (it isn't a level as such because it's basically to close the story).

Here besides the welcome, like all the introductory levels teach us how to move and use the controls, in this case it's very simple, we handle to our a brave postman through the keyboard: with the letters A (left), S (down), W (up), D (right) E (attack), and space key to jump. At the end of the intro we'll see the door of the tower, when we cross it, our adventure will begin.


Screenshots made by me while playing.

Screenshot made by me while playing.

One of the things that I liked most about this game apart the mystery, was that is very dramatic in a good way and a kind of poetic, each step was thought to create for the player a dark and funny atmosphere, for example, this part before starting the game.

First level:


This level doesn't have much difficulty, although it was a little bit hard to me at first because I didn't know how to dodge the knives that the bandits throw at us, which by the way die after a single hit with the letter opener, after I died about 15 times I could handle the situation and reach the end where we find a lot of zombies which don't die fast as the bandits, they die after the 3rd hit, but these it's better if we avoid them because they could corner us.



Screenshots made by me while playing.

Second level:


This level is more like strategy, you must pay close attention to what the letters tell us because they help us to get out of there. Our main enemy here is a bunch of little ghosts and the only way to fight them, is running away, we'll also find a part where there is a lot of fire and our postman is brave but not fireproof. Here I died about 10 times because of those annoying ghosts xD.





Screenshots made by me while playing.

Third level:


This level was the one that created me the hate part for this video game, to me this is the most difficult of all, I've really suffered to finish it, it has many platforms for which there are 1000 ways to fall and return to the beginning or die, the funny thing about all this is when I finished the part that cost me a lot, I realized that wasn't all, the worst was yet to come. That green thing that you see there is going up and if we don't go up quickly... we die. Of course you can imagine how many times I died in this level, I lost count.



Screenshots made by me while playing.

Fourth level:


After having passed the previous level I expected this one to be worse, but it wasn't, in fact it was very easy, I only died about 4 times. Many zombies and predictable traps, it wasn't a challenge, I consider that being the last one should have more difficulty than the previous one. What surprised me about this level was what I found at the end... that kind of demon scared me, because besides of being ugly, he was running side to side, but it was very easy avoid him.



Screenshots made by me while playing.


I really don't have much to say about the end, at first I thought I would have to fight against a super difficult boss who would kill me about 100 times before I could beat him, but it wasn't, the end is based on the discovery the big secret, and the reason why which our dear postman is there, which by the way is not purely coincidental, as I don't want to ruin you the story, I'll only tell you that one hit or a jump is enough to finish everything, all depends of the final choice you made.


Screenshots made by me while playing.

THE END


Screenshot made by me while playing.

Now, why love/hate for this video game?

  • The good: I liked it a lot, the graphics, the annoying and repetitive music, the little jumps of our pretty postman, the aesthetic variety of the levels, the letters that we found it in each level are fun, the story is entertaining with a final that surprised me.

  • The bad: I hated the 3rd level, I hated it a lot hahaha, and I felt disappointed because 4th level was so easy in comparation, and with the fact of the beast from that level was too easy to dodge, it had been very cool a big fight between the master of the tower and the postman.

Honestly, if you like these types of video games, I recommend it you, despite everything, it entertained me a lot, without doubt I'll would play an update of this game if they do it, which according to the developer's words we'll maybe see it at some point.

Source.

I hope you liked, if you play this video game tell me what you think about it, and if you know another video games of this type that you could recommend to me, I'm ready to try them :D.

See you guys❤.

Sort:  

Congratulations @osmy07! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82