[Game Review] Galagan's Island: Reprymian Rising

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Being a gamer for pretty much most of my life & growing up in the 80's, I've always enjoyed a good 'ol fashion shoot 'em up arcade game. As of late nothing has really caught my eye to scratch that nostalgic itch, until now.

Enter Galagan's Island.

What a real hidden gem this game is. Was told about it by @jonny-clearwater as his 16 year old son coded it.

16 years old guys!

It's a galactic shooter just like in the old days complete with power up's and Basass Boss fights! What more do you want right!

The controls are pretty much straight forward as with any arcade shooter. They do highly recommend a game controller and I can agree with this as I play it with a keyboard which is a bit trying at times.

You are given numerous Powerup's during the game to rain devastating carnage on your enemies. Hint: Shoot the asteroids when you can.

The actual ingame graphics are nothing short of amazing. It does a brilliant job of invoking those childhood memories of going to the arcade and feeding the machines quaters.

Here are a few screenshots to show you...

Just pure 80's eye candy.

The game itself ran on my Intel Celeron 8GB RAM Win7 flawlessly without a hitch or stutter. Gameplay itself is smooth and I didn't experience one error or game exiting to desktop. What sets this game apart from the others for me is that it forces you to think and not just shoot constantly.

Above you'll see Overheat to the right. This bar fills up as you shoot so you'll have to keep an eye on that or your weapons will overheat.

On the left you have your damage bars. These will change as you take damage. When the bars are empty, you die.

Also, the more damage you take the slower your ship fires and moves, which I like as it adds to realism to some extent.

Boss fights are awesome because well, it's a Boss fight, but more importantly, a special song plays upon the Boss's entry performed by no other than our very own @Rest100!

Yup, an actual Steemian performed for the game's soundtrack!! Absolutely amazing!

I'm really enjoying this game and for the low price it's a real bargain!

The game can be purchased on Steam for a few bucks. I highly recommend the investment.

I hope this review has done this truly amazing game justice.

Click here for AWESOME Steemit products!

Sort:  

Damn that kid has serious talent.

Indeed my friend, indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79