I was in dire need of support to get my game on.

in #gaming6 years ago

image.png

Last night I found myself with some free time and decided I would get my game on. I have an xbox one with a Gold Subscription, which entitles me to download two free games per month and play as long as I keep my subscription live (renewed).

I was all settled in, ready to play some Assassins Creed Unity. Untill I fired up the game.

I got a nice messages telling me that I was unable to play this Games with Gold title because I needed to renew my subscription.

The thing is, the renewal is automatic. And yesterday was the exact date that the renewal was going over. My account on xbox.com even showed an active subscription, but my xbox wouldn't stand for it.

It was a no-go. !^%$!^%$, Mother@^%$&^, Sunnova^&%#(&^% and some more profanity escaped the confines of my mouth.

I tried the usual, rebooting the xbox, signing out of my xbox live account and signing back in. I even went as far as following some googled advice as to delete the account then re-adding it to the xbox.

I was still in the woods. My xbox wouldn't budge.

So I called in the marines ...

well not really, I fired up a chatsession with Microsoft support instead.
I was helped by a very nice and helpful representative called Alexa.

She walked me through the usual bullshit I had already just tried myself, which, as expected, didn't work. We even went as far as resetting the xbox to factory settings, to no avail I might add.

It looked like it just wasn't meant to be.

Alexa then asked me if it was ok for her to cancel my sub in order for me to actualy renew it. I didn't know what else to do, so yeah that was ok, sure.

Lo and Behold ... that actually WORKED ! JimmenieCricket !! YEAY !!!

I guess it must've been something with the sync between serers and whatnot where one said it was renewed, but the other didn't. because while I couldn't play xbox one Games with Gold, I COULD play xbox 360 Games with Gold and Fortnite Beta as well, for which you ALSO need to have a live Gold account.

Alexa was very patient throughtout the ordeal and that gave me a very satisfactory experience with Support and a solution to boot.

I actually ended up gaming for another 2 hours before I had to hit the pillows.

Thx Alexa of Microsoft Support for helping me out !


Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians - @eqko


Me and my fellow blockbrothers are a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here. Or you could choose to set us as your proxy.
witness_vote.gif

Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

As blockbrothers, we build Steemify, a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Sort:  

Microsoft does some strange things sometimes. This is why I buy the cards now instead of paying for live through an account.
Out of curiosity, do you make video content for Xbox or Livestream gameplay? Or just make video content in generally?

no not really, I'm more of the solo games without streaming. Though I was concemplating how I'd go about streaming an xbox gamesessions through DLive.

I use a capture card, but I've heard of others using W10 Xbox app.
You can also put videos up on Dlive as well. It's not just for livestreams.

Sweet. Thanks for the info. i’ll definitely look into it.

Awesome. And if you're down, I started up a Discord for Xbox content creators and players that are also on Steemit/Dlive/Dtube, you are more than welcome to join.
https://discord.gg/qhpW4HR

you described well.
so, you enjoyed the free time.

I like game.....👍👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28