Additions to my Review Policy in regards to PC Gaming.

in #gaming5 years ago

This is not something I really took into consideration originally, because of almost all of my gaming was done on Consoles, and my PC gaming tended to be smaller indie and AA titles that just about anyone would be able to run. However going into the future I plan to do more PC gaming with larger titles that tend to be more intensive, and I am currently getting a new PC.

Going forward, there are two things that are going to be included in all PC reviews I do. The first is I am going to look up and post the minimum and recommended requirements of the games I review. The second thing is I am going to include my PC specs with my reviews. I figure this will help give people an overall idea of whether or not they can run it, and what they can expect if they try to run it when compared to my own experience.

Another thing I want to do is find out how to gather any kind of specific and objective information that I can in regards to how efficiently the game is running on my PC, though this will require some research on my part to know what information to include, and how to figure it out. The one I know about is Frames Per Second. Feel free to comment on any other things like that so I know what kind of information to be digging into to flesh out the PC reviews more.

I want to do this because it's not like a console, where you can expect every PS4 to run essentially the same, even different models of the same console aren't going to have massive differences in performance. PC's are a bit of a different animal, and so requires a bit more due diligence on my part to ensure a more useful review.

Here are my current specs for my PC:

Ryzen 5 3rd Gen 3600 (3.60GHz) (6 cores, 12 threads)

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB

16GB DDR4 3200MHz RGB

1TB SSD

AMD B450 (Motherboard)

The reason I went for these is while they are newer parts overall, as I read into it more it seems unless I am going to worry about Overclocking, the higher end pieces aren't going to do me much more good. As it's something I was never interested in doing, and most people don't even know what overclocking is or how to do it, I opted for a build that is more likely to apply to a lot more people and is nicer on the wallet then were I to go for the higher-end Ryzen Cards, or an X40 motherboard. At the same time, it's still a strong enough machine to handle all current releases, and more likely than not a good number of releases for the next few years. I expect this setup to last at least three years, if not longer.

Also, it seems modern tech has done a lot to sort out the issues with gaming off of an SSD as compared to an HDD, and so long as I keep a back up just in case that's wrong, it'll be nice to actually see if that's the case. It would be nice to know that consoles like the PS5 moving over to SSD's for memory isn't a move that's going to shorten a console's lifespan significantly.

All that said, here is a link to my original Review Policy, this post here is an addition to that.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dlstudios/introduction-what-to-expect-and-my-gaming-and-anime-review-policy

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25