My Gameboy Collection

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Gameboy was the first portable console I owned as a child. I had to share it with my 3 other siblings which meant I couldn't always use it when I wanted to. We made a rule that once the batteries died, it was the next persons turn, and back then, 4 double-A batteries would only last an hour at most (we only bought cheap batteries).

Its button layout was designed to mimic the original Nintendo controller, although I have always thought the gameboy was much more comfortable to hold then the original Nintendo's rectangular controllers. In order to not cover the speakers, you had to consciously make sure your palm was on the side rather then the top which caused a lot of hand strain.

This case is the only reason the games and accessories haven't gone missing till now. It was one of the better garage sale pickups I had as a kid, and without it, this post likely never would have seen the light of day.



Each of these games have been played hundreds of hours and still work as good as new. Nintendo made quality parts that seemed to handle the test of time. I don't have any boxes for my games because back then, I was a gamer and not a collector. I had no idea that their value would inflate as much as they did.

Games List:

  • Alleyway
  • Dragons Lair
  • Duck Tales
  • F1 Race
  • Fist of the North Star
  • Harry Potter
  • Nale Scale
  • Radar Mission
  • Pokemon Yellow
  • Pokemon Trading Card Game
  • Solar Striker
  • Tetris
  • Wizards and Warriors
  • Quix
At the end of the Gameboy's lifecycle, Nintendo recycled the unsold gameboy chips into "Super Gameboys" which allowed you to play your gameboy games on your Super Nintendo Console. When I told my friends about its existence, they never believed me. It was very poorly marketed so virtually nobody knew about it, let alone owned one.


Because the Gameboy lacked a back-lit screen, you were forced to buy 3rd party light accessories in order to play comfortably in areas that lacked sufficient amounts of light.
Toys-R-Us manufactured an accessory that turned your D-pad into an analog stick, had built in speakers, and its best feature was the fold-out magnifying glass that turned your tiny gameboy screen into something easier on the eyes. The accessory itself took 2 D-Cell batteries for easy portability. In my opinion, it was THE most important accessory if you wanted to have a good experience.
I will always consider the Gameboy as one of my favorite portable systems. The nostalgia you get from its monochrome screen is unmatched and will always have a special place in my heart. If you never got a chance to try a gameboy, your missing out.

- More collection posts on the way!

- Follow me @cryptocreme if you haven't already. If you like this post, slam that upvote so I can share the wealth! I'll try to respond and upvote as many comments as I can.

Sort:  

Personal fav on Gamebody was Dragon Warrior Monsters / Monsters 2. The breeding chains were so complex I dumped hundreds of hours to get my desired monsters. Great memories

of the games I own, Quix and Pokemon Yellow are my favorites. Super Mario Land is my favorite, although I have long lost that one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90