Game Rev: Azure Dreams - the most underrated ps one game

in #gaming7 years ago

This is the 1st of series of game reviews ill be doing, im so excited, so without further ado, ill jump right on it!

I love playing console games even when I was very young, this is something that's embedded on my DNA that's why I know a very good game when I see one.

Lets talk about Azure Dreams
Screenshot_20171218-181508.jpg
(All credits to Konami)

This game has all the elements of an awesome rpg, it has a wide array of quests to be done, town to save, monster pets to catch, villagers to help out and best of all, women to swoon and fall in love with.

Screenshot_20171218-181701.jpg

The level of depth this game has is what keeps me coming back for it.

A short synopsis of this game :There is a mysterious monster tower at the center of the town (Monsbaiya), this tower apparently has treasures beyond comprehension and monsters eggs which can be sold for tons of gold or which at the hands of a great monster trainer can be a trusty ally and companion to help you beat strong monsters inside the mysterious tower.

Screenshot_20171218-193908.jpg

Screenshot_20171218-181830.jpg

Your father(Guy) is a famed monster tamer had an equally strong partner( Beldo), they trained and push themselves hard in order to achieve one goal, and that goal is to reach the top of the mysterious tower.

It is said that at the top of the tower lies the Ultimate Egg and that this holds infinite power. But what Guy didnt know was his partner Beldo was just using him yo reach the top tower and take the power for his own.
Eventually they reached the highest floor of the tower.

Beldo grabbed the opportunity and shot a phase beam hitting Guy near the heart, with his last remaining breath Guy drew all his power to seal the Ultimate egg.
The seal he placed can only be broken by his own blood (the main protagonist.. You!).

This is where the adventure begins, you embark on a journey to find out what lies at the top floor of the mysterious tower and hopefully to know the truth about your Dad.

Now why did I say that this is the most underrated PS one game? It is because this game did not have the same hype the Sqaure games (final fantasy franchise) just to give an example had. It wasn't popular in the US nor was it popular here in Asia.

But this game is truly a gem, I've beaten and played through this game more times than I can remember and I still long for it to this very day. I guess what keeps me at it is that testing your skills and luck at the chance of getting rare monster eggs and winning over beautiful ladies, something which you cant seem to find in games nowadays.

I tried finding similar games like Azure Dreams but they all fail in comparison, This game will always be in my heart and I will always be filled with excitement to play it no matter how old I get. 😊

Sort:  

Check out Wild Arms 1 and 2, while not action battles as they are turn-based, still quite similar, though Azure Dreams is still better in my opinion. Especially for fans of games like Zelda.

Great article by the way. I appreciate the reminder of this underrated gem.

Thanks Carl! Ive played wild arms 1 and ill say its one of the best RPGs on ps one as well, the game has lots of great puzzles and an awesome soundtrack!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65599.45
ETH 2648.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87