Colony Survival - Phase One: A Short Story

in #gaming7 years ago

A sandbox, zombie survival game, in the medieval setting.

What is Colony Survival?

Colony Survival is a Minecraft like, horror survival video game. It takes place in the medieval age, where you can control colonists for you hamlet, village, or city. While at night, unless you change it otherwise, monsters attack your settlement and try to put an end to your settlement. As king, you must your job is to provide order and establish a well-structured colony, at least enough to protect and/or provide for you colonists.

With that, let's get to the story!

My good friend @ggteixeira and I decided to play this game, with the hardest settings we could put in on and see how far we could go and/or if we could thrive. Our story begins as two kings out to start our settlements in some far away lands.

We travel together in order to provide safety for the nights and the dangers of it. After our fair share of travel, we come across land fit for our new kingdoms to be built. Establishing our border amongst each other, we state we are allies (for the meantime), and not to betray this alliance we have formed. We both know the horrors of the night are far worse than petty fights for land and resources. But, who truly even knows what other dangers lurk around in these forests near us.

I make haste knowing the dangers to set up berry farms, to gather food in order to feed us, along with houses for the few colonists who set out on the expedition with me. With the monsters wasting no time to attack me and my fellow colonists, I quickly craft a bow and grab a few of the arrows in which we brought with us to protect our hamlet, allowing the others to continue working. The following day I make a poorly structured wall made mostly of the supplies we brought with us, poor wall structure but it gets the job done.

RZdIEgU.jpg
The first few days of the colony, hard at work in order to survive.

After a few days of gathering resources, we were able to take in a few more colonists who were more than willing to work for their survival and safety, rather than the alternative. With the issue of food solved another one arises, the defense supply of arrows was starting to run low, my guess was maybe three more nights before we would run out and start getting overrun by the zombies.

With this estimate, I start on a mine in order to gather iron for the defense force who were just recruited a few young men were trusted to protect the colony. With only two days left I make haste to gather all of the resources I can to start production on arrows. Making another days supply of arrows for the men, despite the supply of arrows.

In the night I hear screams from the men as they get slaughtered by the overwhelming horde. Without any time to waste I spring into action sending our city in a state of siege​, burning through what little food we had stockpiled. With one day of supplies remaining, both of food and arrows, I recruit more soldiers to take back our gates and allowing our colonists to continue the work at hand. In a bloody and fierce battle, ​we manage to take back the gates and establish ourselves on the map as a force to be reckoned with.

lExnnBX.jpg
The few soldiers who remain after the fight in taking back the gate.

To Be Continued...

This concludes the first segment of the Colony Survival series, I hope you all enjoyed this read. Stay tuned for the next one, Phase Two should release very soon, see you in the next one!

=====================================

Thank You For Reading!

As always I would like to thank everyone for reading, if you would like to say anything about this, about the game, or just want to chat I would like to hear from you in the comments below. until next time!

Sort:  

Seems like a fun zombie game, i like your writing style as well cant wait for the next segment! Not a big fan of minecraft, but i did like the graphics of it, so this might be more for me!

You sir just gained a follower.
Go in peace dude! :)

It is really fun, I liked Minecraft a lot. This is a more mature feeling version of it, with better graphics and mechanics. Definitely, work checking out if you have the time.

However, I am glad you liked it and are looking forward to the next one, your support means a lot.

I followed you back my friend, I also checked out some of your posts, absolutely stunning literature, and formatting.

Go in peace as well bro! 👍

I've heard about this game before, it sounds really fun, especially the way you write about it! Where do you play the game? Is it online or disc based?

It is a really fun game, I cannot wait to see what they add to it next. Thank you I am glad you enjoyed it, and it off of steam. It is currently $20, it is also a very short download.

Definitely worth an upvoted and a resteem :]

Can you not bring your spam here, I am actually trying to benefit the community. I have flagged you and I would like to respectfully ask you to remove your comment.

Sincerely, Ateazi.

Enough is enough, I shall no longer stand for spam and people trying to leach through other posts that are not their own.

If people like us don't try to reach towards a better Steemit, then no one will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89