[VR Game Review] Windlands: The Mario 64 of Virtual Reality

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

That may sound nuts at first, but hear me out. While Lucky's Tale has many of the conventions of Mario 64 like coins, man eating plants, entrances to subterranean sections of the level and so on, it isn't open world. The levels are linear, even if their design does much to disguise it.

It's much more like Crash Bandicoot, right down to Lucky's moveset. There's just one goal per level, though you can replay it in time trial or "find the red coins" mode, this pales in comparison to the much more varied, themed missions in Mario 64.

What made Mario 64 magical wasn't that it was a 3D platformer on powerful new hardware, but that it realized the promise of free, unchaperoned exploration of 3D worlds, where before the computing power to do that wasn't widely attainable for the average consumer. When you sat down with your new N64, plopped in the Mario 64 cartridge and started the game, you were (after the intro) confronted with a totally free, open ended experience.

Windlands is, structurally, much more similar to Mario 64 than Lucky's Tale. It's also visually similar in the sense that it's relatively low def, faceted polygons and basic textures. You can jump unusually high, you can double jump off walls, there's all sorts of acrobatic techniques without even getting into the stuff you can do with the grappling hooks.

But more importantly, you start out in a hub world from which, by collecting the blue triangles (stars/shines of this game) you can unlock access to more and more worlds. The only difference is that you go through magical gates instead of paintings. Thereafter you can visit any of the worlds you've unlocked at will, as each contains multiple blue triangles to collect, as well as other hidden collectables.

It doesn't confine you to a corridor, there is minimal story too. It just says "See those glowing things? You need to get them. How you go about it and in what order is your own business." Think about how many Mario 64 levels were focused around climbing to the top of something to get a star. "How the fuck am I gonna get up there?" is the entire driving force behind the gameplay. You can see it, but how do you reach it?

I definitely got the "oh wow, this is a whole new world I am paralyzingly free to explore any way I want" feeling from Windlands that defined Mario 64. Not so much from Lucky's Tale. That's not to say Lucky's Tale isn't a fun, charming game, but the Mario 64 comparison doesn't fly with me. They successfully copied many of the tropes and gameplay feel from Mario titles, but lost sight of what made Mario 64 a truly revolutionary and memorable game.

Windlands currently utilizes artificial locomotion on the Rift, but can use the motion controller wands of the Vive. It is by far a more compelling game with motion controls, though support will be added to the Oculus version when Oculus Touch drops. It's plenty comfortable as-is. You might have nausea issues, though I haven't. Various comfort options are available in the menu if you begin feeling queasy.

At just $20, Windlands is easy to recommend. I'd also go so far as to call it the ideal title to introduce newbies to VR. If I had my way, it would have been the pack-in, instead of Lucky's Tale. Don't get me wrong, Lucky's Tale is a wonderfully charming game, but it doesn't have that mind blowing feeling of being launched unprepared into a whole new realm of limitless freedom which you can explore however you see fit. I give Windlands a 9/10.

Screenshots credit to Oculus, except for the Mario 64 ones obviously

Sort:  

Hi @alexbeyman really nice post, Mario 64 was one of my favorite games when I was teenager now I have 30 years old and now my 8 years old son love to play this game with him Nintendo ds or with the emulator on the PC.

Very cool!, Love video games. So much that I opened a video game store in my 20's!

Nice review @ alexbeyman !

We have a gaming channel you should check out:
https://steemit.chat/channel/gaming

Great review @alexbeyman!
I miss the old Mario...you know the one jumping up and down and eating shrooms ups I meant mushrooms .
And olso the one where you had to find and rescue the princess but the princess run off in another castle (like my real life)...
Uff I miss that game...I feel nostalgic...

They have the "New Super Mario Bros" games for that. Classic styled 2D platformers, but on modern Nintendo consoles. You might also like Mario Maker, which lets you make custom levels in the style of the old NES and SNES Mario games.

I didn 't know that thank you @alexbeyman !

Great review. Would you choose the rift over the vive now that you have the oculus?

Yes, I tried both before buying. The Vive has a slightly large, rounder field of view, which I like. But it's also got much coarser, more noticeable SDE (screen door effect). The quality of the picture you get in the Rift is much cleaner and looks higher resolution than it is.

I also like that the Vive shipped with motion controls, but they don't have thumbsticks. Or proper face buttons, just those weird Valve trackpad things. The Touch controllers will have a wider variety of built in inputs, like being able to detect your finger when it's close to the trigger but not touching, when it's touching, then how hard you're pressing it so the visible fingers ingame can match that full range of motion. Individual finger tracking seems like it will be really immersive.

If I had known Oculus would start being all shady, I might have bought the Vive just to vote with my dollar. I don't like Facebook and I'd have to be a fool to trust Zuckerberg. But I trust Palmer. It does bode well that Oculus backpedaled when the consumers got pissed about their deliberate breaking of Vive compatibility. But it's also sort of a bad sign at the same time that they only did the right thing because they were found out, and yelled at.

Overall, I do think the Rift is a slicker, more polished, comfortable device that produces a cleaner, less pixelated image. If you're just after the nicest, most integrated product, go for Rift. You will still be able to play Steam VR games, but you'll also get timed Rift exclusives that Oculus paid for. That's the selfish angle though. If you're more inclined to steer the future of VR with your purchase, go for the Vive.

You're in depth review don't seem to stop! Yes, Vive it is for me I think... Field of vision is pretty important to me, plus agree with anti FB/Zucker points.

ya pokemon is nintendo's bread and butter now though

Pokemon it is decreasing their subscribers (but those stats where for Pokemon GO) .
Maybe if they release a new version like what WOW did or a totally new game they will be in the top again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14