STEEM Mobile Update: Nintendo Switch Added!

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I said I was gonna do it, now I have. I'm still unsure if I can really afford it, but it seems like some of my whale and dolphin supporters have recovered from their Thanksgiving torpor and are upvoting me again so I think it'll be okay.

I was planning to buy one used, but apparently the literal children selling these on Facebook Marketplace have no idea that selling used means knocking something off the price. They're selling them at full price, sometimes even more, expecting to get 100%+ of the money they spent on it back.

The only ones not being sold at full price were missing the dock and thus probably stolen. I didn't want any part of that so I just bit the bullet, drove to Best Buy and picked up a new unit for $299. I might've saved a little bit if I'd been willing to camp out for Black Friday, but I am not quite that dedicated a consumer.

Anyway here it is installed in the rear seat headrest bracket, downloading updates over the in-car wifi. It fits very nicely, isn't big enough to obscure my view out the back window through the rear view mirror and can be plugged into the inverter in the armrest compartment between the front seats with the cord trailing out underneath the back of the lid.

It all fits quite nicely. Originally I was looking at putting a SNES classic in here but then I'd need to mount and power both the console and a small LCD display. This thing has the display built in, as well as built in charging cradles for the joycon controllers. It's very space efficient and just about ideal for car use.

Speaking of the joycons, there's this little tray they fit nicely into that's deep enough they won't slide out in a tight turn. Switch is basically designed for portable 2 player action with the two integrated Joycons which is ideal since I can only fit two people in the back anyway.

I did the strapless mod to them to remove the lanyard and locking mechanism. Much nicer to use now. I actually ruined one of the little slide-on top pieces in the process and had to buy a new (used) one from Gamestop for $4. Live and learn.

I also got a ticket from an automated speed trap camera in the mail, which I discovered upon getting home with this expensive new toy. It'll cost me $165. Not what I want to see after I just dropped $299 on something I don't strictly need.

I'll be fine though. I'm keeping the Switch and will figure out some kind of solution. Looking forward to going on a trip in this thing if only for the excuse to play Switch games with a special girl I've been seeing for a few weeks now. :3

Anyway that's all for this article, keep your eyes peeled for more. Actually don't do that, it sounds really gross and painful.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

That is SOO dope I gotta get one !!

Looking forward to going on a trip in this thing if only for the excuse to play Switch games with a special girl I've been seeing for a few weeks now. :3

Grab a copy of Overcooked, it's a crazy fun co-op:

https://www.nintendo.com/games/detail/overcooked-special-edition-switch

AW SNAP- he gone and done it.
Now you need an anti camera trap device to add to your array of gadgets.

Congratulation for this new game. I don't know much about this game so hope you will post a video of a game explaining what it is like. Congratulation

You should get monster hunter on that!!! it would ruin ur social life though haaha

I see you didn't the kids finger printed one. You beat me to it I wanted one of them.

Awesome man, that's a sick addition to your car. Though, that sucks big floppy donkey balls about the speeding ticket. At least you've got that sweet, sexy Nintendo Switch to help alleviate the annoyance of having to deal with that. Well, that and your new chick too, I guess.

Oh, and I noticed that your votes are starting to get back up which is good, I'm glad to see that :)

Thanks duder. Had a chance to play Narcosis yet?

Finally got my review up of the game, bud. Thank you so much again for the free copy, @Alexbeyman. Really appreciate it along with the support you've given back to me on here.

Ain't no thing but a chicken wing on a string from burger king, my computer duder (⌐■‿■)

I've started it, but I'm only like 10-15 minutes in. Hoping to finish it sometime tomorrow if I feel halfway like a living human being. I've had 2 procedures done this week on my mouth/jaw and I feel like my mouth has been raped by a porcupine on crack.

Sorry to hear that. I suppose I take my health for granted.

Ah, it's alright. What can you do? Shit sucks right now, but it'll pass, man. Hopefully I'll be feeling better sooner than later :)

Alex - Is this gaming facility only for rear sheets of your car? nice gadgets you are adding to your car....

+W+

Of course. It would be too dangerous to have for the front seats. I don't need that sort of distraction while driving.

Alex - Yes, that's why I had that question :) Good option to keep kids in rear sheets either.... <3

+W+

@alexbeyman,
Now you are planing to play inside of the car :D That would be a nice idea dude! At the end you said something about a girl ;) Seems you got BIG PLANS this time :D

Cheers~

that's a great addition to Steem mobile. I am also interested on Nintendo but still cannot afford it.
This means we may see more and more additions to your Steem car in future...
Good luck @alexbeyman
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87