Risky Buisiness on Christmas: Risk, The Board Game in Mexico....And In Spanish!

in #games8 years ago

While we aren't much for Christmas generally, John and I decided to splurge on a little Christmas Eve diversion (oddly enough the word to describe "fun" in spanish).  He's always had a love for the board game Risk, and recently, we noticed it on the shelves at Walmart.  Last night seemed like the night to go ahead and get  it, so we headed to the Walmart for the game and groceries.  I had an idea he was going for the game, but the specifics were supposed to be kept secret until we were there. 

At first I gawked at the price, which was 600 pesos.  That comes out to about 30 dollars USD for the game brand new and it was technically double my grocery budget.  We have plenty of food, but we always go to the store with an intended budget in mind. I remembered the game costs a decent penny, I didn't remember it being that.  All things considered, I'm glad we got it.

It's similar in appearance, except everything is in spanish. 

Ocean name, in Spanish.

There were these handy boxes, used for holding the pieces, which I like. They fall apart as they're only held by folding, so I may tape them soon.

There are these other cards that we haven't used yet, but they add new rules and a new dynamic to the game.

The instructions are in spanish.  Part of John's justification was it'd be a fun way to learn more spanish.

I love the purple figures, I've played it every time so far.

For whatever reason, every time we've played, John has gotten Mexico in his starting deck.  He has never lost Mexico. This is an image depicting a typical day in John's Mexico. 

This last game I finally got my bearings.  I've been pretty terrible at strategy games for most of my life until recently, so I essentially had to re-learn how to play.

My little stronghold this game was Australia, although I literally had to beg John to get him to stop invading.

He had control of Africa)

Until I took it over in one turn...and promptly lost it in one turn as well. 

While it was a bit pricey, the game was worth it.  It's been interesting to see what a game totally in spanish is like; I can honestly say I've not had this experience before this.  This makes me want the Monopoly Mexico Edition, although I'm pretty sure it's just as expensive.  Just another one of those every day things that no one thinks about when moving out of the country.  They've got a lot of the same stuff, generally just in spanish instead of English.  Not quite the third world country the media plays it out to be, is it?


All Content is Mine and Original, including photos in this post. 

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

In Mexico there is quite a variety of finished products almost like some industrialized countries but with high costs and only in the cities.

The price isn't bad, I'm just broke and always on a budget.

All Content is Mine and Original, including photos in this post.

When I read this, I read "All Continent is Mine", and I thought maybe you were a little to into the game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48