Magic: The Gathering - Dimir Zombies Eat Brains - Deck Overview 13

in #games8 years ago (edited)

Yes, it's back! MTG EDH deck overviews are far from done. Here's another tribal deck that I plan to update with more mill effects after some playtesting. Zombies are a fun tribe, and there is some zombie mill synergy I plan to increase based on the mill deck I discussed previously, which is due for some updates of its own anyway.

Gisa and Geralf

Gisa and Geralf make a fairly non-threatening commander. CMC 4 for a 4/4 is fairly bland, really. The ability to cast zombies from the graveyard is huge though. Regular zombie creature cards can gleefully be flung into the path of attackers, since I know I can get them back when I want them later! Corpse Hauler and Gravedigger can get multiple uses, for example. Tokens can thus be conserved more for mass attack or other effects.

Speaking of those other effects, it was Lich Lord of Unx who inspired me to shift a bland zombie tribal into a more mill-related secondary strategy. Lots of zombies on my board means lots of life loss and library loss for my opponent, plus life gain for me as a bonus.

Rounding out the deck, I have standard blue counterspell and black nastiness splashed in for variety. I don't know how much of this will remain, or how much it will grow, after playtesting occurs. There are also a few non-zombie creatures for experimentation - after all, there are anti-tribal cards that I don't want to cause a total board wipe against me.

As always, this deck will change over time as I experiment. Get out there and have some fun!


Commander Introduction
Deck 1 - Goblins Incorporated
Deck 2 - Azorius Shenanigans
Deck 3 - Bruna Voltron
Deck 4 - Green Tide Elves
Deck 5 - Special Forces
Deck 6 - Dimir Mill
Deck 7 - Golgari Elves
Deck 8 - Simic Proliferation
Deck 9 - Gruul Rage
Deck 10 - Black Death
Casual and Competitive Decks
Deck 11 - Gruul Landfall
Deck 12 - Wizards of Nope


Don't forget to check out Pucatrade for online card trading to expand your collection. If you join through that link, we each get a 100-pucapoint bonus!

Sort:  

Hello @jacobtothe,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65651.70
ETH 2676.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91