OST of the Day #42: Terraria - Ice ⛄

in #game5 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

OSTs are really underrated but they're so good, so I thought I'd share a song a day and my thoughts about it! I highly recommend listening while reading! 😊

Happy New Year! Hope everyone had fun New Year celebrations; whether you partied hard or just had a chill night in like me. Anyway, back to the 'ol grind again with a new song to start off the new year!

The song I chose for today is from the super addictive game - Terraria!

Image result for terraria wallpaper"
Source: getwallpapers.com

If you've never seen this game before, Terraria is an indie action-adventure sandbox game developed by Re-Logic. The game was initially released for Microsoft Windows on May 16, 2011, and has since been released on other PCs, consoles, handhelds, and mobile. Terraria features exploration, crafting, building, and combat with a variety of creatures in a procedurally generated 2D world (meaning every created world is completely different). The game has a 3D sprite tile-based graphical style reminiscent of the 16-bit sprites found on the SNES, and is noted for its classic exploration-adventure style of gameplay, similar to games such as the Metroid series and Minecraft.

Image result for terraria wallpaper"

If you've been around the Youtube gaming scene, you'd probably know this game was trending at #1 for quite a while because Pewdiepie started playing it. And I'm so glad he likes it! This is such an amazing game, and I love it a lot. I've personally only have about 117 hours on Steam and I'm not even close to halfway yet!

I started playing Terraria around July of last year, and I was instantly hooked! I remember my first play session was 7 hours non-stop because I got too engrossed in exploring the world I was in. It's definitely one of those games you can just turn on, unwind, and lose yourself in; whether it's exploring, fighting, or building. And it lets people get so creative with building, just like Minecraft!

Image result for terraria wallpaper"
Source: pinterest.com

I've never played Minecraft myself, but I've seen enough to know what it's like, and I think I'd prefer Terraria; just because of the 2D perspective. I don't mind fps, but I would definitely choose 2D over fps games, just because I can see what I'm doing and where I'm going better.

Anyway, here's the song I chose for today!

So in Terraria, there are these different biomes/terrains that you'll get when you create your world; like Jungle, Ice, Desert, Space, Ocean, etc. Everyone will get the same few biomes, but in different areas and configurations. Each biome has their own unique song (both above and underground), and this song is from the Ice biome above ground!

Image result for terraria ice biome"
Source: forums.terraria.org

This song is mostly synthesised, and since I'm not too familiar with that aspect of music, I'm gonna try my best to write about it.

The song starts off with mostly atmospheric music, with the melody playing in glissando (increasing pitch), with it slightly echo-ing as the harmony. I like how the melody itself sounds very snowy, with that high-pitched, metallic sound. And the fact that its echo is the harmony is pure genius. Of course it matches perfectly because they sound the same! My absolute favourite part of the song is definitely at 0:25 when the deep bass kicks in, providing that contrast to the high melody playing just before. Then the song kinda tapers off after that, with some electric sounds playing here and there. It sounds a bit muffled towards the end as if there's a thick layer of ice blocking out the sound. How cool! ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Image result for terraria ice biome"
Source: reddit.com

I always thought the starting melody definitely gave the song that cold icy feeling, but when the bass kicks in it makes you feel warm and relaxed. Although... if you're in this area, you'll probably be busy fighting ice slimes, and I've had way too many close encounters with falling in ice water. But it's still a really great song regardless. It's probably one of my favourite songs in the game. And if you look at my map you'll see that the ice biome is the most explored area in my world just because I love this music the most. 😅

Image result for terraria ice biome"
Source: reddit.com

The composer, Scott Lloyd Shelly, did an amazing job with the soundtrack. While I wouldn't really classify it under the same category as the regular orchestral music I listen to, it's definitely unique, and I think it matches the game (and its respective biomes) perfectly. I could (and have) listened to this music for hours while playing and I never get bored of it. That's when you know it's pretty damn good.

If you like chill games and building stuff, definitely check out Terraria! And if you're interested in survival/thriller series, I'd recommend this Terraria series by PeanutButterGamer on Youtube:

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.steemblogs.club/2020/01/02/ost-of-the-day-42-terraria-ice-%e2%9b%84/

Check out my previous post in this series!

OST of the Day #43: Animal Crossing New Leaf - Toy Day

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much @c-squared for the upvote and resteem! Really appreciate it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @taco.cat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I got to Starbound before Terreria, but I agree. I love the 2d version of sandbox games more than 3d. There is so much fun when you accidently dig out water above you. 😆

Oo I've heard of Starbound but I've never played it before. It looks kinda similar to Terraria tho. Hahah if by fun u mean heart-pounding panic, then yes. 😄

Thanks so much for reading! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62926.06
ETH 2580.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78