Fun Friday! The Game I am Currently in Love With.

in #game6 years ago

I've had this game sitting in my library for some time. Since I've been playing Diablo III so much, I haven't had much time to tinker with many other games.


But man, am I glad that I decided to open this up once I had some offline play time!

The game is called Contrast. I picked it up in a Gamestop in NSW around the first couple weeks of my arrival. I loved the noir art syle and the blurbs were cryptic and intriguing! Something about "Shifting between 2D and 3D dimensions" through "shadows". Sammo saw me looking at it and grabbed it. Now that I've had some time to play it, I am really happy that he did!

contrast.jpg


At first glance the game just looks like a piece of pretty and not much more.

I have to say, I was a bit surprised by the storyline and the overall gameplay. It is easy but at the same time, still challenging at certain points but not enough to be frustrating.

Since sitting down with it this morning I've only made it through a couple chapters. Between shoving coffee in my face and doing the daily work, I haven't had much time to really dedicate to it.

But here are the highlights so far!

contrast2.jpg

(I'll try not to spoil too much, even though the storyline is so far pretty predictable, it is still a nice game.)

contrast3.jpg

You start the game finding out that you are a little girl's imaginary friend! (daaaaaaaaw)
And that her dad is gone. (daaaaaaaaaww...)
And that her mom is a singer at a cabaret. (OoooOoo)

contast4.jpg

contrast12.jpg

Apparently, your little human likes to sneak out to watch her mom perform (AWWWWWW!) and you're along for the mischief!

contrast7.jpg

contrast8.jpg

This is where the fun bit of gameplay comes out. Like most imaginary friends, you can do things that real people can't. Your coolest skill being that you can shift between the 3D world and the 2D world as a shadow person! You can manipulate shadows by moving objects closer and further from sources of light in order to build yourself staircases that help you get to places otherwise impossible!

contrast9.jpg

But don't forget to pick up the Illuminums (the glowing orbs)! You need those for sources of light to do your shadow tricks!

contrast11.jpg

contrast13.jpg

contrast14.jpg

As for the storyline so far, you find out that her dad and mom split up when mom tossed him out. He is trying to make it better by opening a circus. With help from backing from the mob.

Honestly, if you want to kill some time, like puzzle games, and really enjoy some gorgeous animation, this game is absolutely worth the play! It is fun and aesthetically pleasing to the max!

(And the soundtrack is AMAZING.)


And your character isn't hard on the eyes, either. If you're into that sort of thing.

contrast10.jpg


You can pick it up from Steam for about $10US! But I recommend finding a hard copy, if you can. The artbook that comes with it is worth paying the same price for!



stitchhead.png

Gif credit to giphy, images from Contrast gameplay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87