Don't Read This Post, You Might Catch The Airsoft! - A Tale Of Random Experience.

in #game6 years ago

image.jpeg How's it going everyone?! Let me take you on a bit of a journey into the life of this airsofter. This bit of my airsoft history will fill you with intrigue. It will make you smile. It'll make you want to shoot plastic at your friends just to have some more fun stories to tell! Get ready, because here comes a tale of random airsoft shenanigans!

So back when my friend Cody and I were in middle school we had just started to get into airsoft wars with some friends and family. We were pretty new to it, going head on against others, but we always had a blast! We did a few skirmishes here and there and had paid competition games at this place we call the barn. Still don't know why we called it that, because it wasn't, it was an old warehouse. Everything was going smoothly until our airsoft friends started to move out of town for various reasons. We didn't have a whole bunch of options, so we looked for new players that may be interested, and asked around with little luck.

One day Cody's half-sister, Alana asked her boyfriend at the time if he played, to which he replied, "not really, but my cousins do all the time". She let us know and we set up a game day with the guys. I didn't expect that day to have a lasting impact but it did, figuratively and literally.

This was the first time Cody and I played out of town, which was fairly exciting for us. We met up with the guys, talked about guns, got the guns loaded up, and started. It was so fun as I remembered, but fun can come at a cost. First, a rogue bb from a CO2 pistol took a mad turn and struck Alana's boyfriend straight between the eyes, avoiding his eye protection by a mere fractions of an inch. It bled quite a bit but he insisted we keep playing. That we did. Then, while I was securing the "tower" aka tree house, I had a pretty bad run in between a sniper shot at close range and my left index. My nail split in half and gushed blood on the floor and handguard of the MP5 I was using. The adrenaline pumping didn't help. I still have a disfiguration on that finger that makes my nail grow with a line down the middle. From that day forward something strange would always happen on our game days. Good, bad, it's always unexpected and sometimes really wierd.

There were lots of weird occurrences that happened between 2008 and 2010, and in that time I discovered a bit of a superstitious ritual. If we did something strange or out of the ordinary ourselves, nothing stranger would happen. I tell you, it's been a wild ride because of that superstition, but it has definitely made for better stories!

image.jpeg The time I got down and drank water from a stream from a questionable source. I say questionable in that we couldn't find where it was coming from. This game day started early, very early. The game was three and a half hours away and it started at 8 AM. Needless to say, I didn't sleep much, maybe around an hour. We made it there in one piece, but I was sluggish, slow, and dead tired. I pushed through got some good shots, and we came out on top four out of six games so I couldn't have been all bad considering it was five man teams. After the matches were done everybody was heading back and Tyler (Bio) and I just stopped to look around the forest we were in. The one we've never been in, I might add. We wonder around a bit and we see this river. I dare Bio to drink some of it to which he replies, "Hell no". I still have water in my pack but I stooped down and cupped some water and damn did it feel good, being cold and all. I started drinking some and it tasted a bit funny. It tasted like it was purified but also like it was dusty. I kept drinking it though because how cold it was. Oddly enough after that I felt great and we found our way back to the car, no problem. On our way back, we even discovered this epic family owned restaurant called Benny's Pizza. Now, when we game up north, we stop by after as our team tradition. Things worked out well because I did some weird shit.

image.jpeg
Bio and I went to a local mountain to chart out some pathways for a game location, get some pictures, and do a video, but I was too excited about showing him the new areas and game types available that I didn't really acknowledge the superstition I had. I was recording some areas so other players could know what to expect and lost my footing. I landed flat on my back and I'm not going to lie, it was rather painful. It was a few agonizing moments before I got back to my feet. We continued for around two to three more hours when I felt my leg start to heavily perspirate. It didn't feel right considering it was nice outside at around seventy degrees. So I felt my leg and I felt a bit of a squish. Felt again with a little more pressure and blood pushed through my BDUs. "What the crap" was my first reaction. I pulled up my right pant leg and there was a nickel sized hole, about half an inch deep on the left side of my femur. It barely missed the bone whatever it was. It didn't hurt when I got it or when it was healing, I didn't feel it when it happened, and I still don't know how it possibly happened, but I'm not saying it was aliens.

image.jpeg
This one, I'm not sure how to explain or what exactly Gunner and I saw, but it came back and it didn't like fire. Our team has this area we call The Pit. It's where we play most of our local friendly matches. After a game one night, we were all enjoying some pizza and I throw a slice that I dropped, onto the ridge of the pit for the coyotes or whatever wants some pizza. A little later the slice is gone and we didn't see or hear anything take it. We assume it got covered in dirt or something and just go on with our bull session when, out of the corner of my eye I see something shiny green in the dark. I turn slowly to look and get Gunner to look as well. I can make out the shape of what it was under the bright moonlight. It looked like a black cat with bright green eyes, a really long skinny tail, and an unnerving quickness. This thing was so fast and so quiet that it was hard to believe what we saw. It headed into the pit where there's tons of dried bushes without making a single sound. We followed it into the pit with our flashlights out and knives just in case but there was an astounding amount of nothing. No sound, no green eyes, no creature, nothing. We probably shouldn't have followed it, but if you think about it with the superstition in mind I think we did the right thing. That thing could have been watching us all night and we would've had no idea. Maybe by following it, we chased it away and it was no longer a threat. Who the hell knows? I will say one thing though, strange and DPA go hand in hand.

Airsoft is a great pastime that has some cool people, awesome friendships, and some crazy stories. Do you have any good ones? image.jpeg

Also, here's a look at some unusual things my team and I have done just in case you want a good chuckle. If this kind of stuff is normal for you, we'd like to be your friend.

image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpegimage.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65