You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Resignations and Moving Forward (Even When You Haven't Quite Yet)

in #future8 years ago

@tltran You know that I love ya, and I have to say that I disagree strongly with your use of the tag failure.

What you did was not fail. You tried and put your heart and guts into it and if you don't love yourself when you're doing that (whatever it may be), then you need to do something else.

I completely and totally understand that. I loved teaching kids, and although my reasons for leaving the profession were slightly different, they were also quite similar. I was out of touch with myself, and therefore I wasn't happy. I felt that as long as I was doing what I was doing then that I had lost an element of me, even though talking to high schoolers about literature made me so happy.

Everyone has to weigh those decisions out on their own scales. You've definitely had an adventure, and your adventures are far from over. I know you've impacted the lives of kiddos and I do not doubt that you will continue to do so. All my love.

Sort:  

Even when you disagree with me you are so damn uplifting. I agree and feel that I am starting to come to terms with the whole thing not being a failure, but more of a self-discovery. Still stings a lot like failure, though. Maybe it was my failure to recognize the challenges of the position or inability to have faith in my abilities so I jumped at the first offer I was given. Either way, leaving is allowing me an opportunity for growth and reflection that I am very much looking forward to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48