Working With Wool – Solidwool Furniture Project by Justin & Hannah Floyd

in #furniture6 years ago (edited)

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-1.jpg

I’m always searching for innovative projects and today I have definitely found one of them. Based in Devon, UK is husband and wife team Justin and Hannah Floyd who are the owners and founders of Solidwool. With their home town’s woolen industry in decline they decided to reinvent for the modern era, hoping to use wool as a material in unique ways to make products that last. So far they have produced a table, chair and some unique placemats for the home.

In order to make their furniture they combine the wool with a bio-resin in a unique manufacturing method that they have developed at their workshop. Very similar to fibreglass but with wool as the reinforcement instead of glass. They currently work with Hedrwick wool, which is a blue grey colour, so the variation in the top surface is unique to each object and gives them a distinct style. In a way it reminds me slightly of marble.

What I like the most about this project is that this material is a by-product of sheep farming, but they have been able to harness this ‘waste’ product and turn it in to something of functional value. As well as that, you can see cues taken from the great modern designers that have come before, Eames being one, taking some of the best elements from these designs and bringing them forward in to their own collection. I’m a big fan and hope you will click through to their website, I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the honesty and integrity behind their work.

solidwool.com

Original post can be seen on my website here →

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-4.jpg

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-3.jpg

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-6.jpg

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-7.jpg

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-8.jpg

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-9.jpg

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-10.jpg

Solidwool---A-Unique-Furniture-Project-by-Justin-&-Hannah-Floyd-11.jpg

Sort:  

What a great heads up!

:)

The products are honest and beautiful and the hero photograph of your piece sucked me in!

Upvoted/Followed.

Off to check out more from you I wish you well and invite you to pop by mine.

I am an artist/writer/lightworker with much to say...

Have a creative day.

xox

Thanks for the thoughtful comment, I really appreciate it. I followed you and look forward to viewing your posts in my feed. Thanks again. :)

Wool is an amazing material, ive bought some wool socks and its amazing the material difference is.

thanks for the post on furniture, good to see waste reused. And Wool being renewable, its good to see that being used instead of 100+ year old trees cut down.

Thanks for commenting. I agree, it's a great idea and I hope they keep pursuing this idea. Have a great day.

I recently had the opportunity to try out Ginny's https://ginnys.pissedconsumer.com/customer-service.html , and I must say, I was quite impressed. The food was delicious and the service was top-notch. The menu had a great variety of options to choose from, catering to different dietary preferences. I particularly enjoyed their signature dish, which was bursting with flavor and cooked to perfection. The ambiance of the restaurant was also very inviting, with a cozy and welcoming atmosphere. Overall, I had a fantastic dining experience at Ginny's and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great meal in town.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76