@polebird:🔥 Farewell to Camp Couch - RIP - Campfire Mayhem 🔥

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Remember in my first camping post here when I promised a shocking but memorable camp story to come?? Well today's post is about... drum roll please,

THE INCIDENT

IMG_6822.jpg

Let me preface this blog post, by writing about our beloved camp couch. This is a foldable, portable chair "couch" for two that I found at REI about 6 years ago. I remember when I first saw him and thought to myself - a camp COUCH! How cool is THAT. I had never seen such an invention before. :P I decided that he would come home with us!
7718110048_IMG_2005.jpg

Hubby and I have taken camp couch on many trips! One of the first trip's I remember taking him on was our road trip to the Albuquerque International Balloon Festival. We sat on camp couch in the early morning as we waited for the amazing morning ascension of the balloons! Some how, I managed to misjudge the weather as usual, and I remember being very cold, but having a comfortable seat on the couch.

IMG_6074.jpg

Anyhow, on Friday of our camping trip, we enjoyed a pleasant day with nice warm weather and calm waters next to the lake. You may have seen my dtube video below of a fun evening of making smores under the beautiful hues of a sunset.


We got the started rekindled on Saturday morning for some "brunch" marshmallows. At the time that we re-started the fire, there was not much of a breeze, and I was able to relax next to the fire for a bit. Well, weather is crazy and next thing we knew, the strong gusts of wind were hitting our camp site! Some of our other items were getting blown away, so I got up from the camp couch moving Watson off the couch and off to the side to go chase our belongings.

IMG_7107.jpg

Watson was not amused.

When we looked back at the fire, YIKES! Our camp couch had gotten knocked over by the wind and was being consumed by the fire.

IMG_6898.JPG

Tried to save our camp couch, but there were two giant holes. RIP. At least the couch went out with a bang! I'm glad that we were left with just an memorable sad moment for the couch, and nothing worse!

IMG_6896.JPG

Oh, and Watson's leash that he has used for years also burned to ashes - except for the metal clip. It was laying on the couch when the wind picked up. We didn't even realize until it was time to leave. Can you spot it in the fire?

IMG_7104.jpg

It really was soooooo windy!

IMG_7117.jpg

Crazy hair, but I don't care!
IMG_7120.jpg

Thanks for reading!! This post was dedicated to the memory of our dearest camp couch, farewell my friend!

jbf8pc3qlvqhj7pxe0ou.jpg

Love,
Jess

Sort:  

Wow...there she lies..that beautiful puppy..thanks for carrying her along today..l guess it was a nice trip you guys had..thanks always and l just cant go a day without passing by @polebird

Hehe thank you! :) he was happy to go out on an adventure

it's really great fun

Sounds like so much fun even though you lost your favorite couch.
We finally got to meet your hubby and I love the photos and video.
Now I want to go camping.

Hehe it was fun! Good memories, last minute trips can be so awesome :) hope you get to go soon!

Well nice ending to the couch...A lakeview death...
I am happy that you didn't sustained any substantial damages...and Watsy is safe...

Hehe thank you Xabi! I am glad too :)

Aw! Camp couch got a viking funeral

hahah sure did!! a glorious more exciting end for him!

At least Watson didn’t end Up in the fire! Poor couch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70