Physicist Who Helped Establish That Reality Isn't Really Real Confirms That Lucid Dreams Are Really RealsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago

Finally! Michio Kaku confirms that lucid dreams are a real and repeatable phenomenon.

I was getting worried that they weren't, as my own experience with lucid dreams is simply unreliable anecdotal evidence that I tell myself. I mean, who'd be dumb enough to trust their own experience? Not me! That's why I have so many unpaid bills. Until science confirms them for me, they're just anecdotal evidence. I don't see any scientists outside actually observing my electricity meter.

And this is coming from a prominent quantum physicist, a member of a group that posits that the reality we experience isn't the real reality, but a fragment of a super reality where every possibility plays out. So, what it is, is that we just happen to be living in one of the realities where lucid dreams turn out to be real. No big deal. Has to happen somewhere.

And the unconscious mind is real too! Who knew? I'd always figured that the unconscious was a myth and that all the memories I have are stored in a magic box somewhere and transferred to my brain over wifi when needed.

But seriously, this is pretty cool. I don't need science to confirm my own experience. But it's nice to know that it has.

[

]

Sort:  

Also good to know that I'm sitting behind my forehead. All these years, and I had no idea where I was. So glad Michio cleared that up. ;-)

Funny you should post this now. I'm just putting the finishing touches on a lucid dreaming article. I'm kind of hoping to put together a community of dreamers on Steemit, but I'm not sure of the logistics yet. Maybe a special tag for dream related or lucid dream related posts? If you have any ideas or suggestions for this, let me know.

Thanks for the giggles. It's good to see you posting! I've missed reading your stuff.

Just make a tag, and post all related content to it (make it the primary tag for those posts) this will keep piling up related posts in that tag. Eventually others will start using the tag (so long as you encourage them to in your posts) and there you go.

Yes. You're sitting behind your forehead in a tiny little control tower turning knobs and pushing buttons!

Cool, I'm looking forward to your post. I think a lucid dream tag would be good, but the problem with tags is that only the current most popular tags show up in the list. Hmm...

Dream on!

"Reality Isn't Really"

False.

"Lucid Dreams Are Really Real"

Also false.

It's hilarious how people want to accept the opposite of reality as "reality" and live in an unreality of confused nonsense.

I'm not sure who you're referring to, but you did understand this was just kind of tongue in cheek, right?

Kaku and all the other idiots who think this nonsense is "true".

What nonsense? You think lucid dreams don't really happen?

Or you mean quantum physics?

LOL. No, the implication of the title. That reality is unreal, and dreams are the reality. Isn't that the point since you said this was "tongue in cheek"?

Oh, right. Sorry, I'm a bit slow sometimes. I wouldn't exactly say he's an idiot though. But he seems to have some blind spots for sure. But then so do I.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It is not because someone possibly good in some domain can say correct things abut anything.

By the way, Kaku is definitely not considered by the high-energy physics community as a prominent physicist... He even seems to be out of phase with most modern particle physics (for instance, cf. the Higgs boson story last year). I recommend the reading of this post by Jay Wacker that summarizes it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76