Monochrome Monday ~ Talk Is 'Cheep' ~ Original B&W Photography (2), and a Not-So-Short Discussion on Wires and Telephones and Things ~

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

P1000360-1 135kb.jpg

It's All In The Wires


Wires. They just hang up there in the air above our heads throughout our daily life. A silent, yet very important part of the cities and towns containing everyone I know in this world. The ubiquitous wires of our electrified life. Just hanging from their poles, doing their wiry thing day in and day out.

We drive and walk under them all day long. Yet give them very little thought beyond the occasional, "Ooh, a bird on the wire." Or when they get pulled down by a large tree in an ice event, and nothing at home works anymore. THEN we give them a second thought. "When are they going to get out and fix the stupid wires?"

An almost invisible part of our life that brings convenience to our home, allows us to talk and compute with one another on our social sites worldwide, and make a dandy perch for the various birds of the neighborhood. Those wonderful wires.

Historical Perspectives

Yes, it's all in the wires. I'm going to reminisce here for awhile, so you can skip ahead if you think pondering back in time is boring. But it was not actually all that long ago that cellular phones didn't even exist, at least not for the general public, and everyone had to talk on the 'land line'. All those thick, black wires, crisscrossing the country from one end to the other.

One Country, One Wire

It's actually quite amazing, when you sit down and think about it. Someone in Los Angeles decides to talk to their grandmother in New York, they pick up part of the phone and dial away. And get connected to grandma in a matter of seconds.

But what makes this work? A series of wires, that have to be connected, together, ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE COUNTRY. From California to New York state. To me, that's amazing. Basically one wire (yes in a grid, but still, technically, one wire), connecting two people across the entire country. One wire, 2500 miles long, carrying grandma's voice to her grandson in sunny LA. At just about the speed of sound. Pretty amazing.

Talking Into A Large, Square Brick

I actually kind of miss the old phones of the wire'd day. Those huge, square, chunky things with a curly-Q cord connecting the 'hand set' to the large, cinder-block part of the rest of the phone. They certainly were big, and they WERE heavy. Think railroad construction. Everything is large, extremely well made, and designed to last for years and years and years.

Many is the time an errant burglar got bludgeoned within an inch of his life for sneaking into an open window at night, while someone was talking to grandma on the phone. There was even a nifty little 'handle' where the received usually sat, to help with this endeavor. Just curl your fingers under the little shelf, and swing away. No more burglar coming through the open window tonight.

And what about those push-buttons? They were HUGE. You could almost dial the thing with your forehead, if the occasion arose. Though I have no idea WHY anyone would want to dial the phone with their head. Unless maybe the burglar DID get in, has you tied up next to the phone stand, and that is the only way to call for help, when he steps out to the kitchen to filch a sandwich from the fridge. Guess it could come in handy. "Having troubles, just use your head."

"One Ringy Dingy"...TIMES ELEVEN!

Before the modern invention of the push buttons, there was the infamous rotary dial. A clear disc stuck to the face of the phone, with ten holes drilled in it, one for each number. Rotate the thing around with your finger, and wait forever for it to return to ground zero, so you could dial the next number.

Talk about a slow way to connect with someone. Dialing 1, area code, and the 7 digit number could take a short week to complete. Trying to hurry the dial by pushing it back to the starting point faster only made the thing mad. It just made a terrible noise and wouldn't go any faster.

They even made special mechanical pencils and ink pens with a ball on the end in the 50's and 60's, so people could rotary dial without breaking a fingernail. Good old human ingenuity.

I actually have a couple of these mechanical pencils. One has an 8-ball on the dialing end. They're really cool, but are pretty useless for dialing a cell phone, though they do still write really well. I use them all the time for taking messages from the cell phone. On good, old-fashioned, pulpy paper.

"D, It's For You"

Another advantage of the old phone, was that they were pretty much indestructible. Think RR boxcar. I had a roommate, we'll call him Ed, who loved it whenever I got a call on our phone. The thing would ring, he'd run over to answer it, find out it was for me, yell "Hey D, it's for you", then fling the whole shebang at the vertical part of the couch.

The poor phone would bounce off the back 'wall' of the couch, ricochet onto and off the seat cushions, and end up in a messy heap on the floor. The two bells inside would even ring again as it clattered onto the rug, just for good measure. Kind of like the bell used to end each round in a 15-round prize fight. Somewhat apropos.

I'd have to unravel the cords, just to talk to Mom, all the while gesturing my dis-pleasure in his general direction across the room. He would just smile, and wait for his next opportunity. I suppose it WAS excellent manual dexterity practice for me, unwinding things and talking to my mother at the same time.

And amazingly, he never once broke the phone, tossing it all about the apartment. Which was good -- if I remember right -- the things were hundreds of dollars to fix or replace. We didn't actually own them, we just rented them from Ma Bell.

Long Distance Calling

One of the DIS-advantages of the old-world phone, besides the risk of pulling a muscle carrying it around, was the price of actually possessing the thing. Just paying for the privilege of renting a phone was more than the average arm and leg. I can't remember the exact cost, but it wasn't cheap. Which made it a special thing to actually have a phone.

Most people in college grouped together to get one, and had a single phone between several different people. It was a special privileged to have one in your room. But what was truly amazing, was how much the phone company charged to actually USE the phone.

Long distance phone service costs were totally nuts. I remember many a time when a drunk roommate would get a hold of someone's phone while they were away at the library, studying for exams or something, and run up a bill to an exorbitant amount, chatting away for hours on end with their girlfriend someplace far and away in another state. This is why no one wanted to have the phone in their name. Let's face it, the exuberance of youth, UN-monitored alcohol consumption, and an expensive long distance calling rate are NOT a good combination.

A month later, the poor phone-owner gets a bill equivalent to two months rent, and they "don't even KNOW anybody in Pocatello, Idaho"!!


P1000369-2 208kb.jpg

It's All In Their Little Feet

The most fun thing though, about having a land line phone and all those wires we conversed through, was the fun facts you could tell friends or girlfriends when you talked to them on the phone. There was a particular sound that came through the line now and then, kind of a 'squwinch-squwinching' noise, that was odd and rather annoying. And no one seemed to know where in the world it came from.

Which was perfect. I'd tell anyone willing to listen on the other end that it came from the birds on the wires between me, in the Midwest, and them, in New York. Sometimes they even believed me.

"It's the birds, on the wires. They sit up there, and squeeze the wires with their little feet, just to stay on the wire in the wind. It constricts the wires, and makes our voices sound funny as they pass through. It's all due to the birds and their strong little feet, squishing down the wire."

I miss that. What do people tell each other now, on cell phones, when the 'squwinch-squwinching' occurs today? There ARE no wires. And no birds to talk about. Only satellites and space. Somehow, it just makes the world a little less interesting.

~Finto~


Do you have any memories of the old phone system, or other interesting points about phone lines and wires and birds, that you'd like to discuss? If so, please feel free to chime in, and comment below. Thanks for stopping in for a view of the wires.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Sort:  

I still keep some phoneless wires around, for old time's sake.

There was quite a lot of old-school hacking going on with the telephone network and exchanges, before there were computers around. I have read about this and deny all further knowledge.

O:
Also, no worries, the hacking info goes no further than here.

Great pics but even better post!

I remember the old phones perfectly .Our family once fitted a phone lock on ours to stop us young uns calling everybody. It was a ridiculously easy thing to open though and I used to do it with a paperclip! Ah the memories!

Thank you. Much appreciated. What was that, like a big old 14 lb. padlock around the receiver, so it wouldn't fit next to your head? Hard to picture. (Not the paperclip thing, I have no doubt about that one...)

It was in the old fashioned dial itself, a small tubular affair. It prevented you running a number. The giant weighted paddock might have worked also!! Hehe

Yes I remember those days! We always had pens with the dialer ends. We had party lines too. So annoying when you wanted to make a call and two little old ladies were going on forever about nonsense. God help you if you kindly asked if they might wrap it up in this lifetime...they would only be more determined to stay on longer LOL!

Sorry sonny, we're staying on till the cows come home. Classic. Never had the party lines, but as I told @haphazard-hstead, I had relatives in the country that did. Fun listening in, till you get caught. Then again, what mischief isn't fun, if you don't get caught. Thanks for the stop in and LOL reply.

Exactly, everything that is fun has a downside, usually harmful, illegal or immoral, or all three LOL

Actually wire communication travels at the speed of light!

Oops, I better do my Science sleuthing a bit more before I post. Then again, how could the birdie feet affect light travel? So I'm thinking maybe you've been led a-stray.

But what about the party lines where your neighbors could listen in? Our family friends out in the country had that for the longest time. That's how news traveled so fast, back in the day. It wasn't the birds on the wire people heard -- it was Busy Bessie from 2 miles over! You need to use that #oldtimers tag! ; )

SLAP 2... Oh, I forgot about the party line. We didn't have that, as we were citified, but I remember my cousins in the country had it. Like you said, you could listen in to all kinds of stuff of the neighborhood. "get off the line" must have been very popular saying back then. Thanks for the look and comment, and I should use that tag. But am I old enough yet?

I think if you are on Steemit, you are old enough. Especially if you are talking about land line phones and rotary dialing! ; )

I suppose so. How old do I need to be to be on Steemit? 18? 16? Never thought about an age limit. (I know there isn't a TOP one...)

I don't know. I think there are some 13-year olds on here. And YouTube has a 13-year old limit for independent accounts, if I remember right. And one of the Steemit witnesses is 15, I think.

I have seen a couple of people on here who look to be about 12-14. So that makes sense. I know I ACT like I'm that age most of the time O :

I sit at about 8 most of the time, lol.

Excellent post dear friend @ddschteinn, congratulations for the good work, the cables have been our partners for many timepos, do many things possible for us and never have dedicated a prayer of good night.thanks for sharing this ingenious work
have a beautiful day.

Thank you for the grand support you always give forth. Glad you enjoyed the trip back in time over the wires. They have been very important for us, haven't they. Just think of how many things have been discussed over time. Have a wonderful day in the Southland.

Nice photos of the wires! I have a lot of fun reading your story! I especially like your statement about "It's the birds, on the wires.......' Good idea!

Have a nice night! ;)

Thank you. It's definitely the birds, it has to be! ( :
Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for stopping in for a visit and a hello. I hope you have a most wondrous day ahead.

With my pleasure! Hello again.....I just would like to say "good night" to you!!! ;D

Thank you, nice to hear from you tonight. I am done with my dark-night bike ride, and off to bed. So happy day once more. What days does the produce truck visit your neighborhood?

You're welcome! It's great that you have bike ride every evening!

The produce truck visit us on Wednesday and Saturday.... Yeah! Tomorrow, I will have something delicious to eat again....

Have a wonderful day! ;)

Come on Saturday, Come on dessert truck ( :

Yeah! Come on..... Come on! ;D

Can't get there fast enough...

Great post
I used to have a couple of those pencils but must have lost them in one of my moves

Working in the IT and telecom field for 40+ years now the changes in our generation have been incredible when you think about it

It is amazing how many things have changed. Things we take for granted, yet are actually quite amazing. I can write and edit in seconds, with photos that used to take a month to complete. I like this new world in many ways. But I still use my classic old pencils ( :

I am a geek in some way stand have all kinds of cool gadgets but for something's I still use my old ways as well

That's one thing that makes life so interesting, the mix of the two.

Great post and I sure -love - the Image ! :)

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it. It was fun to write and put together. Have a nice day.

Oh, this brought back good memories! LOL
Our house phone was in the kitchen where everyone hung out and private conversations were non-existent unless you had a long enough cord that stretched to max capacity to the bathroom where we could just barely shut the door... that is until DAD thought it was funny to walk by and hang up for you.

I HATED any phone numbers with zeroes in them. OMG it was like watching grass grow! It took forever. LOL Still, good memories and none my kids will ever have. That's kind of sad actually.

Glad I could bring up some fun memories from the days past for you. I agree, it is kind of sad to not be able to think back to the joyful pain ( :
You've re-kindled a few memories of my own as well. The whole one phone for everyone, and as you say, in the kitchen. My Dad didn't hang up on us, but we were told when it was time to be done. And he usually meant business.

But mom, not quite as no nonsense. And my little sister, talk about phone drama. It was like in your family, big private conversations, though I have no idea what was so important back then. But the cord also wrapped into the bathroom. She'd sit in there for the longest time. Finally.."I need the bathroom". "I'm almost done"..." "Mo-om". "Leave your sister alone, and you get off and hang up the phone, you've been on there long enough"!!. "Just five more minutes". I'd like to have a nickel for every time that happened. Over and over again. Finally got a second phone, and it didn't' help much. "Hang it up when I get in the bathroom". My friends and I or brother would listen in, until more drama unfolded. And the whole thing started all over again. Why mothers get gray.
Maybe it IS good to have your own phone. Then again, I'm sure it made us all closer in the long run.

LOL - and your memories brought back MORE memories because we only had ONE bathroom at the time, and having more than one phone didn't matter because it was all on one line so if we were quick enough, you couldn't hear the quiet click when someone else picked up to eavesdrop. hahaha!!

Gosh... What was so important back then? ummm... probably talking with my best friend while drooling over Mitch Gaylord on the cover of Tiger Beat. hahahaaa!!!

Wow, talk about a blast from the past. Tiger Beat. With Keith Whatshisname my sister was probably talking about on the phone in the bathroom. I just looked that one up, and that magazine is still going strong. To the tune of $54.00 a year, if I read right. Lot's of moolah to keep up with people you will never meet. But then the National Enquirer has given me some good post fodder, so I shouldn't complain. "Big Game Hunters From Mars Gunned Down Our Dinosaurs" and other highbrow truths like that...

Get out of here! Tiger Beat is still around??? HAHAHAAAA OMG
I think a zit just appeared. noooo.....

Break out the Clearasil... LOL, thanks for the chuckles. I think I need to go to bed pretty quick. Have a nice night. Don't stay up until the birds start to sing ( :

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10