Surthrival Trailer Mark 1 Update #32 Caterpillar Style Greenhouse Part 2

in #fundition-ok49qt5zv5 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!

This is part 2 of the caterpillar greenhouse build. This type of greenhouse is an easily transportable greenhouse system that many market gardeners use to move from place to place.

I started by getting a hand from my father who came over to help me drape the plastic. Having another person there to help made this operation go smoothly and took about 30 mins to complete.

20181110_153229.jpg

We both grabbed a free side of the 20'x50' section of 6mil clear plastic and lifted it over the greenhouse frame.

20181110_153236.jpg

Here is the view after draping the plastic. We left approx. 15' of plastic at both ends that will be twisted to seal up the greenhouse.

20181110_153652.jpg

I used a 2' horseshoe steak I had lying around to secure one of the twisted ends of the greenhouse. Using a hatchet I hammered the steak into the ground at an angle facing away from the greenhouse.

20181110_154857.jpg

Using paracord I made 2 wraps around the plastic and tied it to the steak that was just hammered in.

20181110_155235.jpg

Here is another view, the next step will be to repeat this process on the other end of the greenhouse.

20181110_155305.jpg

Here is the wrapped plastic on the opposite end with the steak ready to be tied to.

20181110_155625.jpg

Using around a 3' length of paracord I tied a two half hitches knot to both the plastic and the steak.

20181110_155812.jpg

I used a couple wraps on both the plastic and the steak to ensure better security.

20181110_155815.jpg

Here is the view after both ends were wrapped up and secured.

20181110_160219.jpg

Starting from one end of the greenhouse I tied a two half hitches knot to the lowest part of the frame of the greenhouse to begin cris-crossing paracord over the top of the plastic.

20181110_161026.jpg

The paracord will be tied to a steak on the opposite side of the greenhouse that was placed in the center of the ribs.

20181110_161034.jpg

The paracord was wrapped one time on the adjacent steak.

20181110_161321.jpg

The paracord was passed back to the other side of the greenhouse and this process was repeated cris-crossing down the length of the greenhouse.

20181110_161325.jpg

Here is the view of how the paracord was cris-crossed down the length of the greenhouse. Steaks were placed in between each rib and the paracord was attached to each steak.

20181110_162919.jpg

Here is the overview of the completed greenhouse!

20181110_162935.jpg

Thank you for your time if you gave this a read!

Yours in liberty toward a brighter future, may the great creator bring peace and joy within your hearts, Greg @makinstuff

cropped-LogoV4.png

Sort:  

Nice green house @makinstuff, the Wife want's one of these. How many years do you think you can get out of the 6 mil. plastic? Do you get any wind or snow where you are????
resteemed!!! :)

Awesomeness! I very much fell in love with this concept for a greenhouse as it could be picked up and moved rapidly for season extension. It snows here on occasions and can get pretty windy. I believe I can get several seasons out of the plastic. Not certain on ultimately how long it will last however. I originally learned about this style greenhouse from Curtis Stone who is a market gardener in Canada so I believe it works well even in places with lots of snow. Thank you for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

If the better half reads this post I will be building one too! LOL...
Our off-grid neighbors up the road have one..... I have been checking it out!

I found a good resource from someone that built a similar type quonset hut greenhouse in a high wind area of Wyoming that is a good read I really like how they set it up with an inground heating system. http://www.frugal-living-freedom.com/build-a-greenhouse.html

Posted using Partiko Android

Impressive stuff @makinstuff was that 30 minutes to set up completly or just the plastic? Thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @digitaldan, the 30 mins was just to get the plastic set up. The entire build assembly including putting up the ribs and top stabilizer pole takes about 3hrs with how I have this one set up.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've thought about setting up one of these in my main garden in the spring to help warm up the garden soil a bit sooner.

The big part is getting the ribs bent. I think I will be setting up some kits and fixtures/tutorials for making tube bending equipment. A 20'x10' tunnel like mine could be built for around $320 using the materials from local big box stores. This company sells kits for tunnels for a decent cost as well as tons of great accessories for market gardeners as well. https://farmersfriendllc.com/products/season-extension/caterpillar-tunnel

Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.

My sister and her husband have a bunch of big greenhouses made this way. I like going in them on a freezing cold day and feeling the warmth and moisture.

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core

Wow, this came out great! Im going to save this in my 'cool ideas to do someday'...
We built a large greenhouse and I know how annoying it can be to put the plastic on! My husband and I did it, but it was a struggle. Ours is about 10ft tall and 12 feet wide though.
Id love to have a smaller greenhouse like this! I like the whole paracord idea!

Thank you @squishysquid! It worked out well and is a real straightforward way to put up a greenhouse quickly if you have the bent top rail.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99