Join This Quick Experiment For A Bit Of Fun

in #fun7 years ago (edited)

In a post earlier about whether there is a place for trolling on Steemit, I referenced the urban dictionary for use of a few definitions. The page remained open all day and when my brother arrived and asked me what it was about, we decided to have a bit of fun with the site.

We looked up Luke, his name, and the top ten definitions inspired quite a bit of laughter. He then called for me to look up my own, expecting my name to have some negative definitions, yet the first 5 pages were filled with progressively complimentary descriptions. I think I cracked a couple of ribs as we searched relentlessly for a derogatory definition of my name, yet were unable to find one.

Just for fun, I challenge you all to share the top definition of your name on the urban dictionary, as well as your favourite definition of your name.

Here is mine;

That's the top definition, but my favourite one is ranked number four.


I look forward to seeing what comes out of this..


Edit: look up "Simon" for a hilarious definition.

Sort:  

Oh shit... this isn't gonna be good. Back in minute.

Edit: Well, apart from my actual formal age I guess it wasn't all that bad after all ...

Most seem to be written by people who have that name, and so are very complimentary. If you want a laugh, look up Simon and Matt. Lol

Odd that 7.5 to 8 inches is considered an abnormally large penis by this poster, but a classic example sentence. Lol.

See, wasn't that bad was it??

Hey wait a sec, I'm using the metric system over here... how much is an inch LoL

2.5cm is 1 inch. Lol

It's cool though. I wasn't implying anything lol. It's just a definition clearly written by a teenage boy.

haha it's fine then ;p

My favorite one is the last one given that I am a Male.





and the good one!!

Haha. Deva definitely sounds feminine to me. It's a great name. And apparently one of divinity, so you can't complain about that.

I have always wished that mine was a little more exotic. The one thing I hear more than anything else is, "I have never met anyone like you before," so I feel that I should have a more unique name to represent that.

I live in Scotland, with the name Scott, so if someone shouts my name in the street, forty people turn around. Lol.

Well my name is pronounced Dayva Wineblood.... I almost ended up being named Demi Cosmo.... gotta love having hippie parents.

Sounds like a great name for a fantasy novel. Demi Cosmo isn't quite as appealing so I'd be happy in your position.

When I was developing projects for Neverwinter Nights 1 for Bioware and the community people thought I was using a fantasy handle rather than my real name. :)

Haha. See, I told you.

I shan't complain too much, as though my first name is very common, I do have a very unique, Nigerian surname. Though, I do not want to share it here due to the nature of some of my content.

My wife and I would like to visit the UK and Scotland some day. We gotta take a trip around a roundabout (said with Scottish accent)... that is an inside family joke with my Wife.

Her brother trained in special forces (Green Beret) in Scotland and came back saying things like Roundabout with a distinctive Scottish accent.

Okay, this is my favorite only because my natural habitat is the living room or the hot tub:
Breanne
Normally one of the names of the most unique girls on the planet. A great friend and an even better Wii tennis player. Has a natural habitat of the hot tub or living room. Has a deep passion for Michael Cera movies and/or Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Can be incredibly mean but has your back at the drop of a hat. Is an extraordinary cookie baker and a mediocre student.
Jon: I believe the stars moved when Breanne walked in the room.
by BIGNASTY07 October 12, 2011

Lol, good one. Though, now I fancy some cookies and a game of Wii tennis.. -.-

Smooth, lol! 😎

Ooh fun! My name needs long explanations it seems!

The best one (Who wouldn't want to be called a princess!):

Marian
The name "Marian" is translated from the old Irish language. It means "Princess"...and rightly so! A quiet, sensitive girl. Loves animals. Not selfish and thinks of others constantly. A girl who is able to make you think that the last day you spent together was the best day of your life only to prove you wrong the next time you see her. She is beautiful, smart, honest and doesnt take shit from anyone. Loves bracelets, unusual people, oldies music, and they all have Jay-Lo butts. She is the most sexy, traffic stopping, goddess/angel in the universe if you happen to be lucky enough to ever meet one you will know what I mean. She is patent, understanding and knows how to do anything better than anyone so don't even think about trying to do it yourself. She can even cook, and sew your shorts if the button falls off. They have the best style and grace of any other people in the world (you know like Audrey Hepburn). They are all around perfect.

I now understand why Robin Hood's lover is named Maid Marian..

This is quite the complimentary definition. Judging from your username, I imagine that the she can cook part is definitely on point too.

My own definitions seem somewhat inadequate now. I may have to write my own and submit it to the site. lol

Haha, sorry for that!

Hmm, yes according to my boyfriend, the cooking part is definitely true :D

Wow...this actually made my day, lol! Here is mine:
TOP DEFINITION
Breanne
Usually a name of one of the prettyest girls on the planet and she is also very sexy, shes a very good kisser and has a great ass, she's nice but doesnt take any shit from anyone, she seems like good girl but is actually realy bad ass, likes to play sports and is very good at them and isnt affaid to kick some ass, she is the perfect girl.
Breanne is my sweatie <3 and i love her

by JESUSman2000 March 23, 2009

Nice ass eh? Let's be friends. Lol

I looked up a few names and have yet to find one where the top definition is not complimentary. Considering it is upvotes that determines the highest rated post, I find some comfort in knowing that people are choosing to upvote the good ones rather than the insulting ones,l

LOL!!

Isn't that a great little experiment? My faith in humanity might be restored, lol. ;)

I was thinking that, but I realise that--for the most part--it will be people looking up their own names and that's why they upvote the good ones.

I may do a post to see who can find the funniest definition of a word or a name on that site, because I'm looking through it now and there are some ridiculously comical ones.

Oh that is true...Probably not to many people just randomly looking up names and upcoming the good one. Dang it!
Oh...You could make it a game, whoever finds the best one gets.... bragging rights, I don't know, lol!

I'll probably do a bounty of some sorts. In the mean time I am going to edit my post to show not only the top definition, but my personal favourite of my name.

You should also share your favourite one.

So eeey... how you doin'? ; )

Lol! 🙈🙉🙊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14