FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY[]QUESADILLAS WITH BLACK BEAN & CORN SALSA

Hello #fruitsandveggiesmonday friends. It is Monday again and time to submit our vegan dish of the week. This competition, started by @leansveganliving and hosted by @plantstoplanks has helped me to create delicious vegan meals.
Today I prepared quesadillas stuffed with veggies and vegan cheese. To accompany the quesadillas I made a black bean and corn salsa. Everything was so good, this was the first time that I've made black bean and corn salsa. I got the recipe from Pinterest, https://thesaltymarshmallow.com/black-bean-salsa/. Eating these vegan dishes is taking me away from my paleo diet. But it is hard to cook food without eating it, especially when it looks so good.

I used potatoes for the base of my filling, then added bell peppers, onions, corn, black beans and my taco seasoning. I used Daiya vegan cheese and Mission garden spinach herb wraps.
Quesidilla Cover-1.jpg

I gathered my ingredients, chopped my veggies, seasoning them and pan fried in olive oil.
20190519_211900.jpg
Ingridient in pan-1.jpg

When the potatoes were tender, I added the black beans and corn.
All in pan-1.jpg

Next I heated the tortillas in a large skillet and placed the cheese all over. As the cheese started to melt, I added the potato filling over the soft cheese.
Wrap and cheese-1.jpg
Potato and cheese-1.jpg

Then I placed a second tortilla on top and cooked until bottom tortillas was crisp. Next I flipped the quesadilla over so that the other side could brown and get crispy. I cut the quesadilla in quarters and left them in the skillet as I prepared the black bean and corn salsa.
Quesidilla cut in pan-1.jpg

I chopped jalapeno peppers, red and green bell pepper, red onion, cilantro and tomatoes. The dressing was make of olive oil, sea salt, lime juice, cumin, and cayenne pepper. I added the left over corn and beans then mixed the dressing into the veggies and the salsa was ready.
Beans and corn-1.jpg
Corn and black bean salsa-2.jpg
Corn and black bean salsa-1.jpg

This was a wonderful meal, my husband thoroughly enjoyed the quesadillas and even had seconds. The salsa was like an cold extension of the quesadilla, since black beans, onions, and corn were in both of them.

Well see you all next week.

Quesidilla -1.jpg

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

Sort:  

Delicious Mexican plant-based treat for real foodies like myself - yummy

Thank you @michelnilles, I was a joy to make this dish.

hi @paleotwist
truly a delicious dinner! I love seeing photos of how to prepare a dish. I always say that I would like to do it myself when I cook but then the photos are horrible !!
Sorry if I ask you, but how is the paleo diet?
congratulations on your curie vote and thanks for sharing with us

@road2horizon, thank you very much. The paleo diet does not allow any grains, beans, corn, pasta, refined sugar, or dairy. It eliminates most processed food. We are supposedly eating like humans ate during the paleolithic era. I have been on the diet for over 2 years and it works for me.

very interesting, I never really felt it !! when you say it works you mean to lose weight or as a lifestyle?

Oh my God YES!! I just finished filming something very similar and I must say the black bean corn mixture photographs so well, right?!? It is hard to abstain from sampling while making these yummy dishes. I’m sure you do your best though. Haha. Love quesadilla night 😋.

@puravidaville, you are right, it is hard to abstain. I don't worry too much about it, I take one of my stomach pills and go for it. That salsa was pretty and tasty and I ate it like a salad with the quesadilla.

Yep, just wait until I post my triple f this week. You’ll recognize the recipe… 😉. What kind of stomach pills do you take? It’s so difficult to find good vitamins down here but with all of my tummy problems I’m always looking 🤷🏼‍♀️

Your quesadillas made with spinach & herb wraps filled with a black bean and corn salsa looks absolutely delicious, definitely worth breaking your Paleo diet for this :) Lovely post @paleotwist!

Hi paleotwist,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much, I feel so honored to have my post considered as "exceptional content."

@paleotwist This is really mouth-watering. I got hungry again. Nothing could be better than quesadillas stuffed with veggies and vegan cheese.

Posted using Partiko Android

@bloggerkrunal, you are so right. This veggie cheese melts and taste like dairy cheese, but better. Thanks for your comment.

I have never tried to make my own quesadillas. It's anyway not that popular where I live. I only had it a couple of time but I loved it. I haven't eaten it since I went vegan though as we don't have here any restaurant here serving vegan version of this dish..

Your quesadillas look delicious! I have heard so much about the daiya cheese but they don't sell it here so I have no idea if it's good or not..

I know the feeling when people like the food and ask for the seconds.. you must have been flattered :)

Thank you for sharing your recipe and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you so much. I love sharing my recipes where they are appreciated.
I am truly humbled to have received the Curie vote.

Oh yum! I haven't had a quesadilla in a long time, but this looks delicious! I love black beans and corn together like that. Definitely a great combination in my belly! I can't for all of the really fresh corn to hit the farmers market soon. One of the farmers last year had the sweetest, most delicious white corn. I hope they have some more this year!

I haven't had quesadilla in a long time either. I keep trying to find new foods to fix for my husband. He tells everyone that he has his own personal chef.

It's about time for me to make a run to my local farmers market. They have so much stuff there, I have to be careful and not overspend.

He's a very lucky man! I'm about to go to the farmers market here shortly! It really is so easy to spend too much with all the yummy local goodness!

Posted using Partiko Android

Gosh this is so yum, healthy pretty and neat. You made the tortillas also from scratch or used the already made ones?

@vibesforlife, I used the already made ones by Mission. They were very good and held up well during cooking. Thank you for your comment.

The already made ones also look good :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

We have LOADS of organic black beans available here in Northern Thailand - they're grown by the indigenous mountain people - and so I'm always looking for new and innovative ways to cook and use them.

NICE idea! I was mildly culture-shocked to see both canned corn and canned beans - although you CAN buy them here, they're so easy to buy and prepare fresh. It's literally been about 20 years since I bought canned anything other than olives and cat food.

Do you make your own tortillas? I want to learn since you need to take out a bank loan to afford them in Asia. :)

Lovely meal suggestion and I'm gonna try it too! With some local fresh steamed corn cut off the cob and local black beans that I prepare once every week in the slow cooker overnight. :) Easy.

Hope to see LOTS more black bean meal ideas!!

Thank you @artemislives, I used the can beans and corn because they were already in my pantry. I try to create dishes with what I have on hand at that time. On my paleo diet, I don't eat corn or beans but my husband does. He became a vegan earlier this year, so I try to create healthy vegan dishes for him. But when I ate beans, I cooked the dried version. When I prepared red beans and rice, I would cook the red beans in my crook pot.

The tortillas that I make are not not made from corn but with almonds flour and other ingredients. I use them for wraps or sandwiches.

Have you tried making black bean soup? It is so good. I made a big pot for my husband last month.

Thank you for commenting on my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94