You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fruits and Veggies Monday | Cool Fruity Chocolate Delight and the Dog Days of Summer!

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Those look so yummy, and I would make them if I had some chocolate chips to hand! Instead I'll have to imagine I'm eating them.
Hurricane Dorian is now heading our way, bringing rain and strong winds to Scotland. But we are very lucky, as we generally get just the tail end of hurricanes here. I have experienced two full-blown hurricanes - a freak one that hit Glasgow in 1969, when I was a tiny tot, and the freak storm that hit London in 1987, when I was living there. Luckily I didn't experience any damage to myself or loved ones in those storms.
However I have relatives in the Bahamas, and a few of them live in Abaco and Freeport. Thankfully they all survived, but the home of one of my cousins was completely destroyed, and another cousin had her house roof blown away. This kind of thing is unimaginable for me.
I'm really glad you didn't suffer too badly from that storm!

Sort:  

lol, love it @natubat! Wish I could send some your way. You would love these after one of your long hot hikes! :) As for Dorian...oh my goodness, I hope she's gone by the time she gets to you. I am so sorry about your relatives in the Bahamas. The news clips are unbearable. Did your family leave the island? From the pictures I have seen, the whole island is uninhabitable, such damage is unbelievable. We lived through Irma, the eye of the storm going over our subdivision, we also had a tornado taking our lanai cage and twisting it into a mess with our neighbors. Scary stuff. I don't think we'll evacuate next time as we know the house can take 141 mph gusts of wind, category 3 at that time. Evacuating is way too stressful!

Most of my relatives live in New Providence, which was not affected too badly, but a few were living in Freeport and Abaco, and yes, they did evacuate, thankfully. It's good to know that your house is that strong, but I would be terrified to sit through such a storm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.73
ETH 2525.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47