FruitsandVeggiesMonday Today!

There they were. Just hanging out, ready to be plucked from their vine. The garden is small, but the vegetables are abundant this year. Eggplant, peppers, and tomatoes are in their prime. I am not opposed to buying what I am not growing, but, there is a certain pride in going out to your own garden and harvesting the fruits of your own labor.

or go to the farmers market like I do when that doesn't work out

IMG_5695.JPG

Supermarket, farmers market, u-pick-it or your own garden, I always try to pick veggies or fruits that are brightest and most enticing in color. Tomatoes and other vine-ripened vegetables should be saturated with color. My carrots should be crisp and not able to be put into the latest yoga position. It should not be that flexible.

But, we are talking best case. Sometimes, I take what I can get. :))

IMG_5647.JPG

'Tis the season, is it not? Right now, my cup overfloweth. Well, the refrigerator anyway. So, I will be taking some of this yummy deliciousness and putting it up for the leaner winter months when there is nothing to pick.

Of course, I can always go to Peru like my grocery store does

This week, I will be making some different soups using some of these delightfully succulent pieces of produce. Every end of the season, I look forward to ratatouille which is a French eggplant and vegetable dish. I cheat a little and put all the vegetables with no home in the pot too.

Everyone needs to be loved

IMG_5673.JPG

I have thrown some lentils in the mix here because they are a staple food for me.

Vegetables come from many different parts of the plant, including the leaves, roots, tubers, flowers, stems, seeds and shoots. Legumes are the seeds of the plant and are eaten in their immature form as green peas and beans, and the mature form as dried peas, beans, lentils, and chickpeas.

Vegetables can be broken up into different groups, with each group providing their own unique nutrients.

The main sub-groups for vegetables are:

Dark green or cruciferous/brassica
Broccoli, brussels sprouts, bok choy, cabbages, cauliflower, kale
Lettuce, silverbeet, spinach, snow peas

Root/tubular/bulb vegetables
Potato, cassava, sweet potato, taro, carrots, beetroot, onions, shallots, garlic, bamboo shoots, swede, turnip

Legumes/beans
Red kidney beans, soybeans, lima beans, cannellini beans, chickpeas, lentils, split peas, tofu

Other vegetables
Tomato, celery, sprouts, zucchini, squash, avocado, capsicum, eggplant, mushrooms, cucumber, okra, pumpkin, green peas, green beans this snippet right here comes from eatforheallth.gove.au

There can never be enough praise for the lentil. It is the perfect food, having a high nutritional value that anyone can benefit from by incorporating into their diet. It lowers cholesterol, heart health, digestive health, stabilizes blood sugar, high in protein, increases energy and aids in weight loss. The bonuses are too many to list. If I write much more, people will stop reading.

IMG_5743.JPG

I cannot leave without giving you a sweet treat of sorts. The berry. A perfect fruit.

IMG_5609.JPG

Okay! You knew it was coming! Go to your refrigerator and open it up. Take a picture. Post it. Refrigerator check! What do you have in yours?

IMG_5756.JPG

IMG_5757.JPG

As always, thank you for visiting and don't forget to get your five servings a day in!

Sort:  

so many fresh fruits....

very fresh.

Thank you. Yes!! :)

Congratz, you just have been resteemed by @pixresteemer!
(All right but who is pixresteemer?)

@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @pixresteemer. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dswigle to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you!

Thank you, Pixresteemer!

That delicious organic stuff even looks so much better in the images :)

Thank you so much, @bescouted! You know how we all like to hear that our food looks good enough to eat. (food is not my specialty! )

Have a fabulous evening!

I bet is damn delicious :) Would love to try it :)

Very healthy, informative and colorful post! Happy Tuesday! \☺/

Thank you! You always leave such nice comments! Appreciate it! Happy Tuesday!

You're welcome :) I went to the garden today and we replaced over 10 little green caterpillars, the damage was not too bad, I think it will be ok.
New Image.jpg

Yay!! It doesn't look bad at all!! How lucky are you?? I am so glad after all the hard work to get the gardens ready to plant. Will you have the same plot next year? Does this mean you got your bike today?

No, my friend and his wife, whom I share the garden with, picked me up and we worked all 3 of us for about 40 minutes and everything looked fine again. Today I am getting my bike(it's past midnight here :D )

And if we don't mess up, we will have it again next year :)

Freedom once again!! Good luck! I hope it is a good one! Well, serviceable anyway.

Goede nacht!! :)

Dankjewel, het was een hele goede nacht! En een goede morgen wens ik je ook maar meteen! :)

'S avonds weer voor jou!!! :)

how beautiful everything
the refrigerator is separate thing here we are more carnivorous, but with accompaniment always of peppers, garlic potatoes and onion hehe
and never ever so picked up and refurbished, my refrigerator is a mess
que bonito todo
la nevera es cosa aparte aqui somos mas carnivoros, pero con acompañamiento siempre de pimientos, patatas ajo y cebolla jeje
y nunca nunca tan recojida y areglada, mi nevera es un caos

siempre con pimientos y cebollas hehe... Always always!

My Sweet Denise, you are such a giver. So many outstanding photos with insightful information and the lovely story about your gardening experience. Truly a pleasure to see your entry. No to forget your world famous refrigerator lol. You did it again!!! Fantastic entry, thank you so much. UPV & RSD 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

This is always such a fun challenge and you totally keep me in line with my refrigerator!! Thank you so much for hosting !!! And thank you for the upvote and resteem!

Always a pleasure Denise, I am so happy that is going so well and that you are always in the front lead 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Wow! Awesome writing...Following you for more.
Please visit my profile, hope you will like my photography, if you like please follow and upvote me for future images...@saan

Thank you so much @ssan. I have already visited your profile, already upvoted and already resteemed. I am also already following you. If you give people a chance, they will visit you without you prompting them. Just like I did. Already.

Thanks a lot dear...

The pleasure is mine.

Great work, I take it to my wall, greetings. @dswigle

Thank you so much, Oscar! Much appreciation! @oscarps

Please post your recipe of your ratatouille and some mouthwatering photos of it. I haven't cooked it for ages. I write it on my list as long as the eggplants, bell peppers and zucchini are still available fresh from the local farmers. Hmmmm ...

I will do that! I probably will make it Wednesday as I am making jam tomorrow. :) Have got to get this food put up for the winter! :) I have a basic ratatouille and then I have another where I throw in all the leftover veggies that have no home. :) I will probably make both. I am not sure I can make mouthwatering photos. Food is not my expertise! Now ask me to do a flower! :)

Ok! I'd like to see a flower then ... 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48