Fruitsandveggiesmonday-Tropical Fruits in Bali

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday4 years ago (edited)

After much time I would like to share a post on #fruitsandveggiesmonday hosted by @lenasveganliving.

This is a null entry as I am sure I'm late.

I am currently in Bali and taking advantage of the abundance of tropical fruits that I couldn't get in Canada either at all or for a decent price. Plus buying fruit that was picked too soon and traveled far is not very exciting. There's nothing like going to a local stand and buying seasonal fruits that are even hanging on trees at the side of the street.

It's definitely rambutan season. I know that because of a tree nearby that is full. This must be where the nightly fruit bat visitor does his shopping before he comes to dine over my porch. I am not able to fly to the top of trees so I must use my feet to stroll to the fruit stand.

Yesterday I bought a half a kilo of rambutan which used to be one of my favorite fruits when I was a little girl living in Thailand. I was four when I went to Canada. These fruits never left my memory.

DSC_1343.jpg

They have a small pit inside that is covered with a jelly like flesh that is sweet with just a hint of tang. Many people in the northern climates have access to these especially in large cities that have Asian groceries. I see them at home all the time but I never get them at home because of the price and they're like peanuts to me. You can't just eat one or two.

DSC_1346.jpg

At the fruit stand I was happy to see one of my all time favorite fruits which feels like a fairly new discovery to me, although I probably ate them as a child.

Mangosteens are right up there on top of my favorite fruits list. They are also found in Northern grocery stores but like the rambutan, it cost more for the importing and they won't be as good as the ones that are local and picked in season

DSC_1356.jpg

The white flesh inside has a tangy sweet taste. I also love a flowery taste that I get from it. Like the rambutan, I could eat several before I have had enough.

DSC_1364.jpg

When I was in Bangkok I saw what is called snakefruit . I wanted to try it but never did while I was there. Now in Bali they are everywhere and abundant.

They literally look like they are covered in a snake skin which is kind of creepy if you think about it but I bought some, feeling certain that like the other delicious fruits, they would be good as well.

DSC_1328.jpg

They have a firm flesh with almost a rubbery texture and small pits inside.

DSC_1340.jpg

Snake fruits taste slightly sweet. They are not juicy and the taste reminds me of paint. I will not be purchasing these again. It must be an aquired taste because I don't get why they are being sold in large amounts. Not my thing at all.

Well that was my fruit experience lately.

Have a good week everyone!

DSC_0936.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful photography Carolyn! I am so happy you back with the FAVM family and happier than ever! I love tropical fruits, but they can never taste as good here in Canada as they do in their own climate. I just wish I could reach out and grab some, lol. 🌴🥝🌴

01.jpg

That means alot to me Lena. I appreciate it so much. I am very happy to be back, Yes tropical fruits ae the best when they are ripe.

I just hope to see you soon again 🌴😍🌴


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR 2nd PRIZE 💚🌿💚
2.png

Oh my I didn't even think I was on time. I am surprised and honored for this prize.
Thank you very much Lena!

My pleasure Carolyn! Well deserved 💖😍💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07