A STEEMIT GARDEN FOR BUTTERFLIES - FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY

IMG_3434.JPG

Thank you. Merci. Obrigado. Dankie. Grazie. Spasiba. Matondo. Asante. Danke. Takk. Do jeh. Diolch. Efharisto. Mahalo. Gracias. Toda.

IMG_3219.JPG

Have you ever stopped to consider the hardworking bee, bird and butterfly? Have you ever thanked them for their ceaseless efforts, without which we would probably all starve to death. Einstein rightly said: “If the bee disappeared off the face of the Earth, man would only have four years left to live." Our apricots and peaches are flowering much to the delight of the sunbirds. The sunflowers have started opening and are covered with bees. The seeding onions seem alive with the busy activities of butterflies, bees and sunbirds. All our efforts on our homestead would be wasted if it weren't for these incredible little creatures.

Goshna 002.JPG

When I joined Steemit I put a lot - and I mean a LOT - of effort into finding kindred spirits. I followed and upvoted and commented. I posted for a number of challenges and contests. I upvoted and commented. And upvoted and commented. And upvoted and commented.... I still upvote and comment. But my rule now is the "three strikes and you're out". If I make the effort to upvote and comment, surely at some point, that person will at least acknowledge my efforts? Who doesn't feel equally disillusioned - yes disgusted - that there are those on this platform who expect the upvotes but do not condescend to reply. Ever!

IMG_3457.JPG

Now I don't run around thanking tiny insects but I do plant herbs that will sustain these live-giving little creatures. We keep hives. We put out safe little islands of water so that the tiniest creatures can refresh themselves without drowning in the process. We share - often involutarily - our bounty of fruit. I will always encourage others, especially gardeners and homesteaders, to cater for the butterflies, bees and birds.

IMG_2813.JPG

But back to the Steemit garden. Let's face it, this cyber homestead sometimes seems a virtual weed garden with obnoxious parasitic critters. I no longer get disappointed. But I do value a two way relationship. I just give my upvotes and comments to the worthy ones. Look for those beautiful butterflies, birds and bees. Put your efforts into supporting them! Upvote and comment the beautiful people without whom you wouldn't do too well in the cyber garden. These are the beautiful ones who brighten this platform, they bring life and meaning.

IMG_3217.JPG

My interpretation of a challenge is often rather unusual. For today's #fruitsandveggiesmonday I want to thank an extra special butterfly; Lena! Many of you who look forward to this inspiring weekly challenge will agree, @lenasveganliving is one of a kind. I have to admit, she is one of the reasons that I persevere on Steemit. #fruitsanveggiesmonday is by far my favourite challenge. Lena is always enthusiastic, gentle and encouraging. She is an inspiration. This challenge is growing and I have met some other special bees, birds and butterflies that gather in the beautiful garden of @lenasveganliving. Thank you Lena. Thank you to the other equally enthusiastic entrants. Thank you to the kind hearted sponsors. Like our homestead which is filled with the scent of blossoms and the sound of bees and birds, may you all flourish!

IMG_3433.JPG

Sort:  

I absolutely love your posts @buckaroo!! Your photos are breathtaking, but the articulate and interesting written word is something I search for here and always find it in your posts :)

“If the bee disappeared off the face of the Earth, man would only have four years left to live."

Why why why don't people take this more seriously!!!! I've been talking 'bees' to anyone who'll listen for years now, and so many, just don't seem to care. Makes me terribly sad!

Sending this to c-squared as usual my friend! Nice work :)

And I absolutely love your replies @lynncoyle1. It grieves me that bees are approaching the endangered list. People have no idea and sometimes a total disregard for their well being. They simply don't believe that our survival depends on them. Thanks for the submission and appreciation. Of course, I have to tell you Lynn that you are also one of the beautiful butterflies....

awww well it takes a beautiful butterfly to know another beautiful butterfly :)

I too cannot believe that people are going crazy about the fact that bees are approaching the endangered list. It's as if their clothes, pouty lips, and reality tv fills up their empty heads :) UGH, I despise superficial nonsense and am so often just left shaking my head at the state of this world!

You're right. I think it is the artificial world that they live in that blinds them. We lost all our bee hives because of the drought. We've had another local beekeeper supplying us with honey. He stopped here yesterday and said he'd just lost 32 hives! GONE. It's tragic

My Dear Tracey,
I am deeply touched by your kind words and I can't thank you enough for writing this for Fruits and Veggies Monday. I totally understand how you feel about certain issues here on Steemit and I totally agree. However, my favorite is the analogy of our contest being a cyber garden, because that is so beautiful and it makes me very happy. In addition, your beautiful photography is completing your story so wonderfully. Outstanding work my Dear, I enjoyed reading it very much 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Every word is true Lena! You are a beautiful butterfly and you are touching so many lives. I'm sure you don't even realize how many. I've been wanting to write this for a few weeks now. Then after our last discussion I thought now was the perfect time. I am delighted that it brightened your day!

Awwwww Sweetie, it truly did. And you know being a butterfly is a huge compliment to me because I am obsessed with them, lol. Nevertheless, you are a beautiful butterfly yourself 🌸💖🌸

They are special creatures. I have to add that these photos of were the first time we've ever seen butterflies in our area. And our onions were covered with them! So exciting. And so appropriate for you

I love them and I am happy to be one of them., lol.
They are migrating now, so I guess that's why they made a stop at your garden. They like there because they found some sweet nectar. I took lots of photos of Monarchs this year, but only few shots of the Red Admiral you have captured. Sooooooooo beautiful 🌸💖🌸

We had one Monarch. But she was too timid and I couldn't get a photo. There was also a smaller butterfly. Not sure what she is. I hope they are a new addition to our garden


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much @c-squared

Hello @buckaroo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Sister you speak Chinese, I like it :P

Yebo. Me is am linguine ;)

That's not Chinese that's Mandarin :P flied lice you plick ;)

Lovely photos and inspiring words!

Glad that you can find value in my post. I love taking photos and have amazing opportunities, as you can tell @kremena.shtereva

What a great tribute to Lena as well as the creatures responsible for our life. I love the metaphors and connections you make between symbiosis too.

Those are apricot and peach trees with the white and pink blooms you say?!? Absolutely gorgeous and the creature perched on the branch isn’t so bad looking either :)

Great share @buckaroo!

Thanks @puravidaville. Lena deserves the credit. She's a real sweetie and goes the extra mile. The sunbird is in the apricot tree. Both magnificent! The darker pink are late bearing apricots while the white and pink are early blooming. The in between are peaches.

I don’t know if I’ve ever seen their bloom before and they are just gorgeous! It’s true, Lena is wonderful also people like you are who make this community great :)

Aaaaaah! Thank you

I adore this twist on the usual challenge entry, but then again I am always inspired by what you share in your beautiful "garden" of posts! I agree that Lena is a true gem of a human being. She's a big reason why I persist on here through it all. No matter what is going on I find the time to join in on Mondays because it always brings me joy to interact as much as I can with all of the other wonderful people that share in the love of #fruitsandveggiesmonday!

A perfect summary of my feelings @plantstoplanks. Thank you for the compliment!

Hello @buckaroo 😉 one of our busy bee on steemit, what a thoughtfull shout out, your pictures always distracted me 😊 that's because I'm a silly moth. There're so many attractive garden on Steemit and yours is one of the best, I like it though I didn't upvoted your post to get a vote back.. but reading your reply is something that I'd prefer than your comment on mine😊

@cicisaja a moth! So you like the gentle nights and the light that brightens the darkness. I appreciate that you always comment. I feel that a comment and a vote go together. It also makes this platform so much more personal. Thanks for your support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99